2002-05-29 : Eugene
Thanks to Simone for turning me on to this diary idea. So, I woke up at 4:15 am because the cats were acting like crazy monkeys jumping through the hole in the screen (I left the window open) my kitties are so cute. I love them very much. Poppy acts like she is on speed, and Opal acts like she is on klonopin (which I am on, and I'm afraid I might be slightly addicted to the feeling of tranquility it gives me!) I was able to fall back asleep. It was sprinkling. I love listening to rain while I try to sleep. This weekend was fun. Jason and I drove down to Eugene to visit Tracy. I feel kinda bad cuz I don't drive and he had to drive 5 hours there and 5 hours back, but he didn't seem to mind. We met Tracy's newish boyfriend, Ron, who is a physicist and not a loser. He is from detroit and pretty obnoxious and funny and he was talking about his Jewish dad who always calls him and says on the answering machine "Ronald, this is daddy from Detroit calling" for some reason this cracked all of us up alot!! I didn't sleep well that night cuz I swear I heard people shooting guns, but how could there be guns in Eugene, Oregon? Its just full of vegans!! Tracy's roomates had a BBQ the next afternoon. There was a girl there named Helen who was the daughter of the girlfriend of one of the roomates. Her sister named Ruby (16, Helen 14) was also there. Helen and Ruby are good girl names, I think! Anyways Helen was 14 and really really surly/antisocial (I remember being that way around strangers when I was fourteen).She had a kickass outfit on though. She had a short plaid skirt on, navy tights w/matchingish argyle knee-hi socks on top and a tshirt w/a girl w/pink hair on it and a burgundy crushed velvet blazer. she had safety pins all over this headband she was wearing. Her sister was just wearing a Gap tshirt and jeans. I could tell she was the "good sister." Towards the end of the BBQ one of the roomates who is very portly ended up having his leg go through the rotted wood deck we were all on. Amazingly, he was not hurt a bit. Now there are three places where someone has fallen through. Then we were all banned from the deck after that. Tracy and Jason and I went to blockbuster and rented L.I.E. which I liked though I am ashamed because Tracy was right about it seeming like an ad campaign for NAMBLA. The young teenage boys homoerotically wrestling each other to the ground and then pausing, faces inches apart, was kind of sexy. Don't tell anyone that I might be a secret pedophile (no boys under 15 though!) Anyways, the next morning before we left we ate at Mickey's..nice guy, good biscuits and gravy. RIght before we left town we showed Tracy the "hillbilly" teeth we got out of a vending machine at Kmart (the machine actually said "hillbilly teeth"!!) and then she put them on along w/these weird googly-eyed joke glasses and she was running around the yard looking way too Deliverance (except none of us had a banjo). I laughed so hard I thought I might have to pee!! On the freeway going back to Seattle we took turns wearing the hillbilly teeth but noone looked at us and we were disappointed. We did see this guy driving a truck who we swear was wearing a disguise. A big fake grey mustache and shaggy wig. Unfortunately for him, it probably really wasn't a disguise. Right now I'm reading "Juniper Tree Burning" by some lady whose first name is Goldberry (goldberry? GOLDBERRY? What kind of a name is goldberry!?). Its about this girl named Juniper Tree Burning. She has hippies for parents. She hates them. She calls herself Jennie. Her brother is named Sunny Boy Blue and he sounds very sexy. Shaggy black hair, see-through green eyes (the author's description, not mine). He drinks from a flask and spouts Russian randomly. I think he'd be a good date. Unfortunately, I'm married, he's a book character and he dies after jumping off a Seattle ferry. Too bad.