2002-07-03 : Death and Near-Death
I have blisters on my feet from walking too much yesterday. I'm still thinking about death and near-death from yesterday afternoon. I was on my bus, eyes half-closed, listening to music when suddenly I heard our bus driver yelling "oh my god, oh my god" and I look out the window and right there close to the bus was a young lady on a bicycle that had either been hit by either the bus or a green SUV that was backing out of a parking garage. I didn't see the impact so I'm not sure who hit who, but she was still half on her bike, conscious, looking dazed (thank god she was wearing her helmet!) and her head and shoulders were laying up against the SUV and then when I saw a trickle of blood coming out of her mouth, I was like "oh-no" and I sure hope she is ok. Everyone was running around like mad screaming "call 911"...esp. the bus driver. She was screaming at the woman (who was probably shocked and scared to death anyays) "Don't move, Don't move" and I was like thinking "Lady..quit screaming at the girl, you're gonna frighten her even more"...needless to say, the bus stopped there and I had to walk quite a distance to get to Silence-Heart-Nest where I was meeting J. for dinner. I was upset from seeing the poor bicyclist and then I saw a big, dead pidgeon on the sidewalk. He was lying on his back, looking like he was "playing" dead..so I started to cry. I just can't deal w/death and near-death!!