2002-07-06 : Heavy Metal Parking Lot/Ernest Borgnine
Happy Saturday!! I'm trying to enjoy myself thoroughly today as I know I have to do nothing but clean this filthy apartment/box we live in tommorrow. I'm listening to the Bell-Rays. Great band. If Tina Turner were in her 30's today and backed by a younger Stooges, they'd be the Bell-Rays!! I just watched a series of short films by this guy, Jeff Krulik (and friends). Funny stuff. I'd seen bits of "Heavy Metal Parking Lot" already because it is the opening of some modern video I've seen on MTV. Hilarious and scary stoners/white-trash kids outside a Judas Priest concert in 1986. My god..drunks, tight stone-wash jeans and lots of hair bleach and many people having the need for a good bit of dentistry work!! Yikes! To quote the John Water's quote at the beginning of the film "It gave me the creeps!" I remember the "grits" at my high school. They'd smoke across the street on Marlboro Hill. The girls always had hickies and bleached hair. Lots of dark eyeliner. The guys with their jean jackets and grown out feathered mullets, tight jeans and white tennis shoes. Brings back memories. I bet all of those people were drinking Jack and coke and having sex in the back of Firebirds while I was listening to The Cure and still a virgin seemingly forever. The film crew went to this same parking lot 10 years later for "Neil Diamond Parking Lot"..not as entertaining but certainly a funny contrast. The last film on the tape was this same film crew doing a documentary on Ernest Borgnine and his son's cross country tour in a big old fancy bus (coach). I wish Ernest Borgnine was my grandpa. Actually, my Grandpa Ab was very cool. A big teddy bear. Ernest Borgnine's laugh is hilarious. And he still kinda bugs out his eyes. THey showed a clip from one of his films, probably not an Academy Award winner, entitled The Devil's Rain. Looks freaky and I think I'll seek it out to rent. Ernest Borgnine makes a fine/creepy devil dude!! Anyways..thats about it for now.