2002-09-29 : Tower of Power
CAR TROUBLE AND PILES OF LUKEWARM FOOD

---------------------------------------

Hello. I'd just like to notify everyone that I am alive and well after our fucking car stalled on the highway at 1:30 am last night. Scary. Luckily, there was a shoulder that we were able to pull off onto. I thought for sure that some random drunk ass driver or semi would lose control on the slick roads (it had just started raining and it hasn't for AWHILE and that makes the roads really slippery) and would come slamming into the back of our stopped car at 70 mph..I was imagining the accident. Yep..I was scared. LUckily after about 15 minutes we got it started and it ran long enough to get us home. I'm not riding in that car until Jay KNOWS 100% that everything is ok with it. THing is..he just spent $300 getting it "fixed." Doesn't seem fixed to me. ARGH! Anyways...we had been in downtown. We went to Graceland and saw Jimmy Flame and The Sexxy Boys (is that not a retardedly great name or what?)...they were kinda good and kinda stupid. The singer/guitarist was really short and looked like what Gilbert Godfrey would like like if he was a rockstar/hipster (sort of cute..sort of hideous...then again, maybe I have strange taste in men)...then the Sahara Hot Nights played. These Swedish ladies KICK FUCKING ASS like noone else has since maybe the Runaways (which they remind me alot of, mixed with a little Elastica)...then the Mooney Suzuki came on and they were good and I like their schtick and all but it was anti-climatic after the Sahara Hot Nights. It was funny though cuz at one point, I'm not sure what happened, I couldn't see the drummer..but evidently right in the middle of one of their songs (I'm talking about Mooney Suzuki) his drumkit fell apart or got knocked over or something..so they all left the stage to have the roadies fix everything (seeing that they are RAWK stars and can't be seen doing that piddley shit themselves) and the audience was hooting and hollering. We left before their set was over cuz we were tired and hungry. We then went to the Hurricane and ate fairly pricey and SHITTY TASTING food (but they are open 24 hours...hey! Would been better off going to Denny's!) We both had that perfect diner style meal, the open faced hot roast beef sandwich..yum...for those of you not in the know..it is a piece of toasted bread (which ends up being mushy anyway) topped with beef and then gravy is poured over it and on the side (or sometimes on top o the whole pile) is mashed potatoes w/gravy..it was kinda cold which sucked but I wolfed it down anyway. THen we went out to the parking lot and thus the car troubles started. It took about 20 minutes of trying before we could get the fucking car started. Meanwhile, I"m pretty sure a drug deal was going on in a car parked almost across from us. I was hoping they wouldn't think we were narcs or something waiting to bust them. I think they realized that our shitty American car wasn't starting though and that is why we were just sitting there looking bored and irritated.

Today Jill and I are going to brunch/lunch at 1 and then she'll do some long overdue polarity therapy on me. I think I'll take her to The Wild Mountain Cafe and I'll eat a Tower of Power (don't ask..its alotta potatoes and cheese and veggies and stuff all in a big pile..very delish! I guess this weekend my food choices have been all about "the pile style" (ooh..I just made that up..pretty clever!)

ps...Anyone who hasn't seen it really needs to rent "Mark of the Devil" it is SO cheesy and great and Udo Kier is incredibly sexy in it..(anyway remember him in Andy Warhol's Dracula? he he...I love that movie!)

Auf Wiedersehen!