2002-10-23 : I don't like the Residents, bone churches, candy runs and a guy called Popeye
Today on the bus I saw a man that really reminded me of Popeye. What else? It smells like sweet and sour chicken in here right now which is making me hungry. I tryed guacamole chips for the first time ever today. I have to say that they were fairly tasty but didn't really remind me of guacamole. My ex husband emailed me. All he said was "Go to the God damn Residents show"..he keeps calling and leaving messages saying "Go to see the REsidents"...see, but I HATE the Residents and I don't care how much he thinks I'll regret missing them..It takes a certain type of tainted brain to get into the Residents. Ex has that type of brain and I definetly do not. I watched a documentary on Hitler Youth last night. It was specifically on the BDR. The girls with all their pretty maidens all in a row outfits and Heidi braids. Crying at the sight of Hitler. Very strange. Why do I have such a fascination with that time period and the Third Reich and the Holocaust, I mean..I can't get enough of that depressing shit. I really can't. When I went to girl scout camp at age 12 or whatever I was reading Holocaust survivor stories. I imagine the other girls were all reading Judy Blume books. Tonight is a continuation of the Hitler Youth series but this focuses on the boys not the girls. I also watched something called "Ghostly Graves"..those shows always hold my attention though the narration is so cheesy and overblown and I hate the stupid color/modern day re-enactments of when Goody Stewart bludgeoned her husbands lover to death and that lover/ghost runs around in a haunted field/hotel/house/bathroom or whatever. But I did see the inside of this church which is in a town just north of Prague (Karkov is what it sounded like but I don't know if that is really a town or if I spelled it right)..anyways, the church's inner decor is comprised of alot of various bones of the parishioners from ages ago. I'd like to visit. I guess I'm in that morbid, Halloween let's-talk-about-bones-ghosts-candy-costumes mood. I havent' mentioned candy, though. I remember how I used to love riding my blue ten-speed to a convenience store that was about a mile or more from my house because they had the best selection of candy (this was in my early teen years or maybe even younger). Tangy Taffy (not in the little squares but in that huge, teeth-breaking rectangular mass), Lemonheads, Alexander the Grapes, Cherry Chan's. Just me and my bike and a little brown paper sack full of sugar. Sometimes my sister rode with me too. I have lost my taste for that kind of candy.