2002-10-30 : I'm leaving on a jet plane for a funeral in the great cornfields
The thing about this funeral is that I now have less than 24 hours to procure a reasonably priced airfare (thank god for "bereavement discounts!) then I gotta rush around tommorrow being all Halloweeny in my Lil Red Riding Hood costume. The distraction and fun of it will be good for me. I'll be ready for mope mood in time for the visitation and funeral on Friday and Saturday. Thank God I have good bereavement benefits at my job. Because I have to fly out of state and its further than 500 miles round trip they have to pay me for 5 days of absence. In one way I'm excited to see many cousins, etc. that I havent' for a few years even if it is for a more somber occassion. But I want it to be fun. And I don't mean that disrespectfully, but I think Grandma would rather have us laughing and drinking and telling stories than sitting still in chairs, silent and weeping, making small talk with people I've never met or people I can't relate to. Anyways, I'll be gone from Nov. 1 (All Saints/Souls Day..how fitting!) through Nov.6 or 7th...I'll try to update while I'm away cuz I know ya;ll want to hear about the crazy, drunken shenanigans that went on at the Maley/Harshbarger Irish Wake of the Century!!