2002-11-12 : Lingering Scents and How the Garcia Girls Lost Their Accents
Well, true to my word, all I ate for dinner last night was cottage cheese. I knew I wouldn't keep the promise of exercising, though. Oh, who really gives a damn? I don't think I really do. I was feeling all energetic and bright and shiny today up until about an hour ago when I read somebody's diary which is both beautiful and so full of bile it just makes me want to cry. I should stay away from that particular diary. It drains the color out of my face (or sometimes infuses my face with such a blush you've never seen) Anyways, I was thinking about how certain foods stain your fingers with scent, even after you've soaped and watered them clean. Such as spicy mustard or freshly crushed garlic or ginger. I like that type of lingering olfactory memory. I can't really think of much else to say, so I'm gonna type what I think is a beautiful passage from the book I'm almost finished reading (How the Garcia Girls Lost Their Accents...Julia Alvarez)

"She lifted me in her arms. I clung to her as if I were her own child. I laid my head above where her heart should be and thought I could hear, as if inside a conch shell, the dark Atlantic, the waves thrashing in high winds, the vast plains of central Europe. She knew the world was a wild place. She carried a great big brush. She made pinwheels of the whirling stars that had driven many a man mad."

---nice, isn't it? God, why do I suddenly feel so...empty? Like a small, ripe kiwi that has suddenly had its insides scooped out with a spoon?