2002-11-29 : The Day after...
Well, I'm really cranky cuz I just woke up and I am irritated beyond all belief that I have to work on the day after Thanksgiving. I haven't had to in many years. Oh well. Thanksgiving was nice, if not a let down which it is every year. THe older I get the less I like holidays. The food was good, but it just made me too full. I'm tired of not seeing my family on holidays. I don't regret moving away from the Midwest, but I do regret leaving my entire family!! It is really hard sometimes. THanksgiving and Xmas just make me feel kind of sad and lonely and like I don't want to put on the "celebratory" mask. I don't always feel like faking it. Jay felt the same way as I did yesterday and he WAS with his own family (though not his brother, who lives in Boston) and Jay misses his brother on holidays. Jay actually got depressed enough on our way back home that when we were in line waiting for the ferry in our car he started to cry a little and was talking about how much he hates his life. Then I started crying and it was kind of sad! I think we feel better today.

We went to see Bowling for Columbine after the big meal. It was hilarious and disturbing all at once. What a violent country we live in, and what a panic-inducing bunch of fear-makers our media is!!

Well, that's about it. I take the GRE tommorrow. Hope I do well, don't really care right now, just want it to be over with, damn it.

Oh, Jay and I decided that after New Years we want to try out being vegetarians. Just something I feel I want to do. Nobody make fun of me! I promise not to be self-righteous! I just don't think I can eat meat anymore (part of it is for health reasons)..but no worries..I WILL NEVER BECOME A VEGAN!!