2002-12-22 : A Lasagna and Red Wine Xmas Party
Opal (aka: mookie), my sweet and dumb black kitty is bounding around this tiny apartment like her ass is on FIRE. She just jumped in the bathtub (which was empty, praise the lord!) Goofy cats. Now my OTHER cat, Poppy, is in on the hyper thing and her tail has just fluffed up to the size of a raccoon tail.

Last night Jay and I went to my friend Jill's for a little Xmas gift exchange and dinner. I made veggie lasagna which turned out pretty good (though was lacking in enough sauce I think). My apartment still smells like garlic and fried green peppers. Jill and her man did a good job of not fighting w/each other in front of us and Jay and I got along. We shared 2 bottles of red wine and listened to the Bo Diddley Cd they gave Jay for Xmas. We gave Eric a "John Coltrane and Thelonious Monk" cd which I'd like a copy of and they gave me a sexy skirt, which I am going to wear to Jay's uncle's house today. We should leave in about an hour as we have to drive up to Marysville which is a good 45 minutes north of here. I hope this family gathering won't be as mind-numbingly boring as I fear it will be. I'll try to look on the bright side of things (which is that I'm sure at least ONE of his relatives' will be giving us some sort of present) so I think it might be worth going!! I am off now to take a shower, eat a delicious toasted English Muffin, drink some apple-cherry juice and prepare for our departure.