2002-12-26 : Xmas Has Come and Gone!
The Day after Xmas, and I'm up at 5:30am, off to work again. Yuck. Xmas was pretty nice, though Xmas Eve was more festive, I think. After waiting in the line for the Kingston Ferry for an hour and a half on Xmas Eve, we finally arrived at Oyster Point at about 7:00pm.

The in-laws had a fire roaring in the fireplace, which was perfect because I felt chilled to the bone. So I sat in a rocking chair in front of the fire, sipping (no wait, more like gulping down quickly) two hot-buttered rums. Those things are ADDICTIVE! Jenny gave me some of my own mix (and a bottle of Rum in my stocking) so now I can make my own at home..yahoo! So, after I warmed up a bit, we opened some presents. Some things I got: "Seabiscuit" which is a novel about a horse or something which Jenny tells me is very good. The very first present I opened was "Elizabeth Taylor" paperdolls, which are pretty cool (so what if I'm 33...you KNOW I'll actually cut the clothes out, too!) I also got a Gigantic and insanely heavy book "1000 Vegetarian Recipes" (as Jay and I will stop eating meat in a week) and the recipes look fab! I can't wait to start cooking (which is a rare feeling for me!). I also got these really great dessert plates from Italy. There are four and they are replicas of some plates from the 1950s. Pale yellow w/fashion designer sketches of fashionable ladies in retro dresses. Very Very Kitschy and Cool. I can't describe them properly but they were my most favorite present of all. Also got an electric mixer, which I've never had and have always needed:) We also got some fireworks in our stockings! Perfect for New Years Eve. Fireworks can only legally be sold (in this state, I believe) on Indian Reservations and there happens to be one fairly close to where the in-laws live. On Xmas day we ate fruit and homemade cinnamon rolls (after we all unloaded our stuffed stockings!) and headed out to see "Gangs of New York" which was a little slow in parts, and WAY TOO BLOODY for me to stomach in sections, but was a great movie over-all. Daniel Day Lewis stole the show completely!! Definetly recommended for those not faint of heart or found to be fainting at the sight of blood:)

Got home last night about 10:20, and now I'm up this early and tired, but all is well, anyway. Post Merry Xmas, Each and Everyone! Ps...I found out that they colorized my fave "Scrooge" (with Alistair Sims..1951)...BASTARDS! What complete idiots! I hate colorization of ANY black and white's, but esp. that one! Damn!