2003-01-01 : Three Cheers for Rowdy ROCK!
The first day of 2003 started off well enough. I didn't get my lazy ass out of bed until at least 1:00pm, and THEN I managed to sit in bed (and eat a breakfast of Veggie Sausage and tatertots) and finish "Norwegian Wood" (which made me cry! Its like fuckin' Shakespeare, that book...everyone dying!) I was able to ignore my slightly irritating cramps (start the new year..start your period...perfect!) Jay and I made a shopping list and went to the grocery store where I took an unordinarily long time in loading all the stuff into the cart (?) and things were fine until our PIECE OF SHIT..wait, let me rephrase that: PIECE OF FUCKING SHIT car decided to die AGAIN as we were pulling out onto a fairly busy street. We finally managed to get home but that whole thing just managed to put me in a pissy mood, not to mention unloading heavy bags of stuff in pouring down rain! I feel slightly better now that I've allowed myself to relax (and I secretly smoked a cig from the pack we threw in the trash from last night while taking out some trash but Jay doesn't know this!)

Last night was great fun. I got off work at 2:30 and had a little time to kill before catching an express bus at 3:15 so I walked down to borders to purchase my annual Cat Calendar (Jay is sweet..he never complains about the cat calendar in the kitchen!) and I also ended up buying Maximum Rock N Roll for Jay to look at (and for me to glance through..I get irritated by that rag most of the time, though) and I also bought this British Music Mag: Mojo which was worth the $8.50 because the issue was all about the 100 greatest drug songs ever written and they did a good job with the list. Also, a Cd came with the magazine and it has some great songs such as GrandMaster Flash's "White Lines" and Funkadelic's "Maggot Brain." It also has this joyously funny song by somebody named Harry the Hipster Gibson "Who Put the Benzedrine" ("who put the benzedrine in Mrs. Murphy's Ovaltine, who put the nebutal in Mr. Murphy's overalls"...good stuff. Then I went home and lounged around in bed and then colored my hair (cherry cherry) and made Jay and I a Hot Buttered Rum (YUM!) and we listened to the Mojo Magazine CD while waiting for our "designated" driver, Bruno (German guitarist in Jay's band) to pick us up.

We arrived at the Comet Tavern at about 10:00 and it was sort of dull, actually, until the music started. The A-Frames were up first and I danced in my jerky robotic way to them (They remind me of The Fall meets Wire meets Gang of Four or something...) and then The Gloryholes came on and got down and dirty in their rock and roll stew and sprayed silly string all over everybody and people were drunk and dancing and knocking each other over and at one point the singer knocked someone into me so hard that I fell/half-laid backwards over a table I was standing in front of and I couldn't get my balance back and some guy had to pull me up off the table (and I was completely sober, strange enough) and I hope nobody saw my pink panties and my dress went flying up..he he. It was fun and rowdy and probably the best New Years Eve I've ever had, actually! Three Cheers for Rowdy Rock!