2003-01-07 : Little Elizabeth is all grown up and having a BABY!
Wow. I just got some interesting news. Traditionally I would view the news as being a little "scary" but for some reason it just makes me smile. I just talked to one of my close friends, Laurie (who was a BIG support and like a sister to me when I got divorced..I even lived with her and her family for about a year after Rob and I split up) and she just gave me the news that her daughter, Elizabeth (who has always felt like a little sister to me..I've known her since she was 10) is going to have a baby. I think 17 (well, she'll be 18 in less than a month) is too young to be a mother, but I'm kind of happy about this in some strange way. I think all of them are happy about it, so it makes me happy, and I understand that Elizabeth wants to keep the child. She's always had a STRONG maternal instinct..it used to be (and still is) towards animals, which she has always been obsessed about (particuarly cats, and that is something we have had in common)...so I could see that she'd be a good mother. Laurie is a good mother despite many harsh circumstances. It's just crazy. I still sometimes almost think of Elizabeth and the day I met her for the first time. She was 10 and looked kind of like a wild little hippie girl. She had long, tangled brown hair and it was summer and she was walking barefoot in their yard with me as I asked her about herself and she had on a dirty white shirt and she was still very much a "girl" at that point. I remember when her younger brother Mark (he was 6 or 7 when I met him) take a walk with Elizabeth and I down to this road and he always wanted to hold onto my hand. It was very sweet. He's 13 or 14 now and he'd just laugh and blush if I reminded him of what a sweet little boy he used to be. Now all her kids are much older (I've known them all for 8 years) and this pregnancy is ...wow..that is all I can say is..wow. God, sometimes I think I might want a child, but god forbid I bring that up with Jason. I keep going back and forth about children. I get "pregnancy envy" if there is such a thing as that, though. When I find out my friends (or their daughters) are pregnant I tend to want to be pregnant too..strange. Very strange. Possibly very stupid and maybe not the best reason for having babies. We'll see what the future holds.