2003-01-14 : Jangular Rawk and The Quiet Man!!
I'm listening to "community radio" for a change..OOOH! They are playing Interpol...check 'em out if you like stuff like Echo and the Bunnymen and Joy Division...I have their newest (Interpol's that is) at home and I need to listen to it more!! Kexp plays like 3 or 4 songs I'm really thinking "this is NOT good" and then they'll play several songs that are great, which prevents me from turning them off. Other songs I really like that they've played today: Portishead "Roads"..Portishead are not good for me. Sure, they are beautiful and I do love them but they make me feel SOOOO melancholy. THEN Kexp played a GREAT Mission of Burma song "Red"..am I the only one on diaryland that likes Mission of Burma? Probably not. I love jangly, angular guitars!! whoo whoo whoo!! Now if only they'd play a song by Wire..then my day would be made w/jangular (hey! That is a great word..jangular!) guitar rock...then they could also play Gang of Four (am I dating myself suddenly? Probably!)

Last night a movie that I have a big soft spot for was on AMC.."The Quiet Man"...I am NOT a John Wayne fan in the least but I just get all silly when it comes to this movie, and Maureen O'Hara's RED HAIR...beautiful...gorgeous. Am I narcissistic (spell?) or WHAT? It is really cheesy and "Hollywood Irish" if any movie ever has been but it always makes me smile. The only movie that is more "cheesy Irish" is Darby O'Gill and the Lil' People and you KNOW I gotta watch that on St. Patty's day when I can find it!! I'm a cheeseball!! Ya know...there is alot of whiny indie rock on college radio these days and while some of it appeals, some of it just ANNOYS. How about some balls-to-the-wall testosterone GROWLING RAWK (does it annoy people when I use "rawk"?? I don't care!) Anyways, even Jay enjoyed "The Quiet Man" though I had to almost tie him down to the bed for the first 5 minutes to get him to actually watch it..then he was smiling and into it. AWWW...