2003-01-17 : Career Opportunities..The One's That Never Knock...
Ok..I stole this survey from sambadelic (paying her back from stealing one from me..he he!)

1. Where do you currently work?

Swedish Physician Division..doing medical billing for a huge amount of doctors.

2. How many other jobs have you had and where?

#1...When I was 17 I did concessions and cashier at the Thunderbird Theatre in Champaign, IL...my first shitty job.

#2....Worked for a few months (student job) in college in a psychiatry library (where I checked out testing materials to doctors and students) in Carbondale, IL. #3 Worked for Macdonalds during a summer between college years in Champaign, IL (I lasted one week there)..I also burnt my arm on a hot french-fry basket and still have the scar to prove it! #4 Another college/student job in Carbondale..."asst. editor" of a Public Television Guide called "Previews" #5 worked at Folletts' bookstore in Champaign, IL...I'd just graduated from college and moved back home...shelved and priced textbooks..hated that place!

#6 Worked for about 3 years at Publication Services in Champaign, IL as a "typesetter"...SHITTY pay, shitty hours....hated the place..#7 Moved to Seattle and My First job was working for Goodwin Attorney Services as a Microfiche Duplicator/Xray duplicator...loved being in the dark room, duplicating xrays, hated the place, hated the people...despised the coke-headed yuppie motherfucking owner Jeff Goodwin (RAWR!) Only worked there about 2 to 3 months. Quit when panic disorder slapped me across the floor. Took a medical leave of absence for about 6 months and lived off welfare/disability till I got my panic attacks under control. #8 my first job after "the breakdown" was being a clerk for Videoland..shitty pay...shitty customers...I got to take home movies for free, though to watch!! #9 My first semi decent job (and making several dollars more than ever before..but that isn't saying much when you start at $9.00 an hour (which seemed like a HUGE amount compared to $6.50 which was my highest wage before that!)..anyways, job was doing medical billing and refunds for Medical Management Support...hated busing to Bellevue (hated Bellevue anyway)...the work was ok. Worked there about 4 years until the office was closed down by the Head office....got unemployment for a month or two..YIPPEE!! #10 Medical Billing at the Polyclinic...hated that place..only worked there about 6 months..and then I quit. #11 Medical biller for PacMed...worked there one year...liked it quite a bit...but the company seemd on the verge of collapse and I wanted to get off the sinking ship (It never sunk...oh well!) so I quit. #12 Current job here at Swedish!

3. What do you like best about your job?

The people I work with, the flexible hours I can work, the incentive bonuses we get every 3 months and my salary is pretty do-able for me (I still live pay-check to pay-check but I'm never broke and can always afford clothes, books and dinners out...am not saving alot, though)

4. What do you like least about your job?

Medical billing is rather dull, it never changes and it doesn't use any of my creative talents.

5. What is your dream job?

I'd LOVE to be independently wealthy and not HAVE to have a job. However, my dream job is being a professor at a cool University teaching creative writing/poetry workshops. I'm also interested in becoming a librarian (which is why I just applied to Library Science Grad School at the UW)...not sure I"ll be accepted, though!