2003-01-21 : I feel sick, Happy Times and my first exposure to Baynard Rustin!!
I started the morning off by waking up from a dream about cleaning a new house and also hiding from someone within the timeframe of this dream. When I woke, I felt really STRANGE, and tired. I still feel like I'm in a dream state. Anybody ever wonder if our "waking life" is really our DREAM STATE and if our "dreaming life" is REALITY? Not a new concept, I know..but when I think about it like that...I get a little freaked out..he he. I think the spicy bean curd (I found out that Chinese restaurants call tofu "bean curd" on their menus because they don't think American's know what "tofu" means...) I ate last night might have upset my stomach. I also feel really bloated and my fingers are swollen. Too much salt, as my mother would say. Puffy eyelids, rings are tight on my fingers. It was GOOD though...deep fried tofu is the way to go!! Last night I left work early and looked around at some antique stores for fun. I'm looking for a low (height wise) square nightstand or small table to put my altar on when we move cuz I'm sick of it sitting high up on a bookshelf. Yep, I still have an altar. Even when I don't use it much it is a necessity for me wherever I live. I've had an eclectic altar (my spiritual beliefs and the images I choose to put on my altar range from Egyptian Cat heads, Goddess Statues, Jade Buddhas, candles, Mexican "Road Opener" incense, Mexican "Bless this house" and "Virgin Mary" icon candles and a Raggedy Ann teacup with a tiny bouquet of fake flowers..crazy huh? I like to meditate and pray to whatever it is that is out there (I haven't come up with what exactly I feel it is...it's not God in the Christian sense...it's just SOMETHING larger than me and I hope it listens!) Anyways..I do love ritual and that is the one thing good that came out of being raised Catholic (ick)!! Anyways, where was I? Oh, I then went to Fred Meyer to get some cute baby stuff cuz my feisty and very funny cousin, Gretchen, just had her first baby 2 days ago. AURORA, 8 lbs...I love the name Aurora. I'd like to have a child named Aurora Rose (only in Seattle...one associates "Aurora" with a disgustingly ugly street filled with seedy motels, whores and crack sales)..I love the name anyway. I had fun shopping for baby clothes..I didn't buy Aurora anything pink..I decided everybody else would buy a baby girl pink so I got her sets of stuff in Yellow or Lavendar. I have to admit that buying those tiny little outfits made me have a major maternal desire to be a mommy. Fuck...I just need to get over that! I also ended up buying a gorgeous Three-paneled Wooden/Wicker screen (it's made of Walnut and smells SO woody..I love wood!) I plan to hide the cat litter box in our new apartment behind this nice screen. I ended up taking a taxi home and while waiting for the taxi to show up (it took a half hour to get there and I was wearing cute but uncomfortable shoes (what an idiot I can be for cute but painful shoes!) and I witnessed what I think was an attempted "car stealing"...These two shady looking guys (they kept looking around all paranoid and there was one "look out" man and the other guy seemed fucked up on glue or something cuz he was sort of staggering around with a tweaked look in his eyes..they stopped in front of this nice blue sports car and I was standing RIGHT THERE watching them *but not trying to be too obvious* and the tweaky guy bent down with a hankerchief (with something underneath? I caouldn't see) and was bent over this car's passengers side door for a good five minutes and I have no idea what the hell he was trying to do, but he obfviously gave up (or I m ade them nervous standing there) and they left. I was SOOO relieved when my taxi arrived and that driver was a polite, older Sikh gentlemen dressed in a suit. He helped me put the screen in the trunk and I told him I'd had some disgusting cab experiences the past couple of times (I told him about the masturbating cabbie and he shook his had at the "stupidity" of some people)..nice man. I like the Sikhs...very peaceful. Pacifists and they don't attempt to push their opinions down your throat whatsoever but are happy to discuss their beliefs if you ask. Anyways, he even said he'd be happy to carry my screen up to my door for me, but I got Jason to come down and get it. I gave him a good tip. I like "service" oriented cabbies.

We walked down to Peking Palace and I ate delicious spicy bean curd (tofu) with veggies (which I'm now regretting..didn't agree w/my tummy, I guess) I wanted to treat Jay to dinner cuz he just landed himself a part time job driving a bus/van for seniors that live in a retirement home on errands, etc. I think he'll enjoy it..esp. since all his grandparents are dead. Surrogate grandparents!!

Then we came home and watched a hilarious and slightly sad, but touching in general movie from China called "Happy Times"...go rent it. I won't waste your time describing the plot. I can just say that it has to do with a very Large size divorcee looking for a husband, a factory worker who wants to marry her and makes up this whole lie about owning a fancy hotel and the divorcee's neglected and blind (and beautiful) step=daughter who likes to do massage therapy. Crazy plot..check it out!!

Then we watched most of a documentary on PBS on Baynard Rustin...WOW! Fascinating!! He came WAY before MLK Jr. and WHY WAS I NOT FUCKING TAUGHT ABOUT HIM IN SCHOOL? Oh, that's right..he was the dreaded "homosexual"...he was an early mentor for MLK Jr, but he got fucked over so many times just because he was gay, though he was an incredibly charismatic civil rights leader/quaker and pacifist (during WWII!) I plan on researching more about him. He was SEXY too!!

Anyways, I guess I HAVE to work since I am here and they pay me for working. I'd rather just ramble on diaryland and read other diaries! Happy Tuesday!