2003-01-27 : Whistle While you Work...and D4 sets the stage on fire (figuratively!)
I woke up today feeling really "surreal." I can't even really explain that except to say that everything seems strange in my surroundings and my head is very fuzzy. I feel really tired and spaced out yet I slept enough. Hmmm....Orson Welles' must be affecting my subconscious. I'm doing work but also trying to crack up my friend who sits at the cubicle aisle one over for me by whistling Pat Benatar songs really loud (we were having a discussion about eighties fashion)....So far I've whistled "Love is a Battlefield" and "Hit me with your Best Shot!"

Yesterday I did 5 loads of laundry (do I REALLY need that many articles of clothing? Um..YES!) and I'm really proud that you can see the floor behind the foot of my bed again. I also sat around reading the engrossing Orson Welles bio...ate meat cuz I couldn't take the cravings anymore (the cube steak tasted the BEST that a singular piece of meat ever has)..I'm still going to try to remain vegetarian, but when my body screams out "give me meat..PLEASE" I'm going to treat it to an occassional piece of meat. I think giving ALL meat up cold turkey might have been a little harsh on myself!! I am trying to eat ALOT of protein but I have a feeling I'm still not getting enough and nothing packs protein like meat, unfortunately!

I started to watch some of "FunnyFace" (Audrey Hepburn has a cute little elf face!) but I got sick of the musical format. The only musicals I REALLY like are Grease or Xanadu or the Rocky Horror Picture Show. Otherwise the sudden breaking into song makes me start to cringe violently!

I have this dilemna..I really love Jay (but am not in love with him) and I feel like I'm NEVER gonna want to have sex with him again. I wonder if I've permanently lost all my sexual desire towards him. I don't like thinking about that cuz it makes me sad. I don't want to get divorced but sometimes I wonder why we continue to stay married when we could just be best friends/roomates....ah, it is SO HARD to think about this. My fucking libidio...but even if it was healthy would I still not desire him? I did a couple years ago but that just seems to end. Anyways, I've talked about this before, so I won't go into it.

The show at Graceland was fun, though I was really tired. The Peels were pretty fun (and I liked the singer..they reminded me of a less poppy Elastica) but after about 20 minutes of it I grew tired of their sound. Same with Visqueen who played next. They rock and the girls have great harmonizing together but after awhile I was like "please stop your set" in my head. I was so bored/tired that I figured I'd just barely be able to stand up for D4, whom I really came to see anyway....Man! As SOON as those guys (they are from New Zealand, not Australia it turns out) took the stage it was HIGH ENERGY. I was dancing like crazy....everybody was....they were ON FIRE! Just the way I like my rawk n roll served...sweaty and spastic and GOOD! They even came out for an encore cuz we were so enthusiastic about not wanting them to stop playing. They finished with a blistering cover of The Heartbreakers "Pirate Love" WHOO!! They renewed my faith that some bands still really know how to ROCK the audience into a frenzy (and there weren't that many people even there for their set since it was late!) Go see D4 when they come to a town near you! Bruno and Jay said they reminded them alot of stuff like The Hellacopters, and I could see their point, but I liked them better than any of those Scandanavian bands like that.