2003-02-11 : Aquarians, Land Spirits and Dreams
My stomach is still queasy. This sucks. I will NEVER want to eat Saltines again after this week is over cuz they settle my stomach! Ha..my uncle just sent me a couple of "gross" eye surgery/deformation pictures..I directed him to rotten.com if he wanted REALLY SICK SHIT!! Today is Jay's birthday! He is 31 years old and a sexy Aquarian who has green eyes, auburnish/blonde short hair, and a very upturned nose (picture Kevin Bacon). He likes to roll his jeans up and wear black-red-and-white striped low-top Converse. He sleeps in the nude (wouldn't he just LOVE me sharing this with all of you)...he is the SNACK KING (prefers peanuts and popcorn) and plays guitar...Happy Birthday to him!!

I watched "The Third Man" last night. Pretty clever dialogue but overall I was slightly disappointed. The picture was so DARK....you couldn't see what was going on half the time, and Orson Welles wasn't even in the first half at all, which I wasn't aware of. Anyways, I still have to rent The Magnificient Ambersons.

I got 4 vintage full slips in the mail yesterday that I won off E-bay (I think I was the only bidder...nobody but me probably wants 4 pastel vintage slips!)...I tryed them on and they all fit and I think they look pretty sexy. I love the lace on vintage slips! The colors I got are light blue, light pink, light peach and sort of a sea-foam green. I modeled them for Jay while he played "Foxy Lady" on his guitar (which in turn caused somebody to pound on their wall..so he turned his amp down!)

For all you bookworms out there..you should definetly put: "Balzac and the Little Chinese Seamstree" by Dai Sijie on your list. It's exquisitive. I love all the beautiful imagery in it. Here is a sample:

****************************

Towards midnight four old crones arrived from three different villages. They wor trailing robes of black and blue, flowers in their hair and jade bracelets on their wrists. The sorceresses huddled over Luo, who was twitching in his sleep. Then they settled down at the four corners of the bed and eyed him through the mosquito net. It was hard to say which of them was the most ugly and likely to frighten off evil spirits.

One of the sorceresses, the most shrivelled of all, held a bow and arrow in her hands.

"I can guarantee," she said to me, "that the evil spirit of the little coal mine, the one who's been plaguing your friend here, won't dare to come tonight. My bow is from Tibet, and my arrow is tipped with silver. When I shoot my arrow it whistles in the air like a flying flute, and never fails to pierce the breast of demons, however powerful they may be."

Not only were the sorceresses very old, it was very late, and after a while they began to yawn. And despite the strong tea our hostess plied them with, they nodded off, one after the other. The owner of the bow, too, succumbed to sleep: she laid the weapon on the bed and her slack, painted lids drooped heavily and closed.

****************************************

I talked to my mom on the phone today. Once again she is completely "up and down" about whether or not she wants to continue living in Hawaii. She's having a hell of a time finding a nursing job and even finding a new place to live (she has to be out of this sublet in about 2 weeks) is turning up nothing. I keep trying not to get my hopes up cuz she keeps changing her mind, but I REALLY want her to try living in Seattle for awhile. Ultimately, I just want her to be happy wherever she's at, though. My sister moved into a place w/her friend (sister lives on the Big Island too, in case I hadn't mentioned that) and her two kids (and her friend has a little girl) and I guess they live on 3 acres of land and they keep hearing strange noises (crashes and the twinkling of bells in the woods) at night so it sounds as if they have some very old spirits on their land making their presence known. An older Hawaiian women my sister knows walked around the large property with my sister and told her that it's very ancient land and so it makes sense there are alot of spirits roaming around. I need to call my sister about this. Very fascinating!! Even though the building I live in is fairly old (built in the 1920s, I believe) I sense NOTHING there...all clear of spirits. Usually I can sense something in certain places when I walk in the door. Just that FEELING. You either get what I'm talking about or you don't, so I can't really explain it any further.

Strange, lately I haven't been remembering my dreams at all. I seem to sleep really solidly, soundly (for the most part) in this new place. I wish I'd remember my dreams, though. They are always a great source of entertainment and mystery to me. I like to write them down and then read about the dreams I had many years later. I will work on trying to consciously tell myself before falling asleep that I wish to remember my dreams. That usually does the trick for me!!