2003-02-26 : My mom is gonna join the Circus!!
Since yesterday's entry was so pissy and I feel more refreshed and happy today, I've been inspired by ErgoAtlas and am going to make yet another list of things I like/things that make me happy/smiley/silly/glad to be alive, etc.


1. The fact that my twinkly earrings match the color of my comfy cotton shirt

2. The way the tail of Poppy poofs up and gets bristly when she gets hyper/scared/excited..she gets a raccoon tail
3. Seeing Poppy jump up on Jay's lap and the look of total adoration she gives him when he croons to her and pets her.
4. The deep purr of Opal when she jumps on the bed (and she starts purring before I've even TOUCHED her)
5. Burt's Bee's Milk and Honey Lotion
6. Chococat
7. Eating dinner with Jay at our rickety blue table, no matter whether the meal is tater tots and "veggie" burgers or Malai Kofta.
8. Pajamas under my pillow
9. burning Nag Champa and lighting 3 candles
10. The fried vegetable patties eaten with sweet-n-sour sauce from World Asian Cafe
11. Grocery shopping
12. buying myself flowers at least once a week (esp. red tulips)
13. The library with its vast assortment of eclectic books, films and musical recordings
14. My mom's laughter when I say something sarcastic that she agree's with.
15. The fact that my brother sometimes addresses me as "Potatoe"
16. The Red-headed heroines of Pre-Raphaelite art.
17. The sound of church bells ringing 9 times
18. The distant sound of a train.
19. The sound of hail-stones tapping on the windows
20. Blue skies when I walk to work
21. The entire Sonic Youth album "Sister" and the ridiculous and hilarious thing that IS Screamin' Jay Hawkins' album "Frenzy"
22. Dorothy saying "There's no place like home."
23. Harold and Maude drinking oatstraw tea
24. The happy monkey face that Jay makes when he says "Gah-Gah-Gah-Gah-Gah"
25. thinking up and preparing for what yearly Halloween costume I'll wear to work
26. Leprechauns, clovers and Celtic knots
27. shiny red, tinfoil heart stickers for Valentine's Day
28. Green bean casserole
29. Roast beef, gravy and mashed potatoes
30. My mother's cherry or rhubarb pies
31. The high little voices of my niece and nephew when they laugh at my funny faces and the way they call me "Auntie Tater"
32. Gogo boots and Paisley mini-dresses
33. Thinking about my grandmother when she'd screw up her face and call somebody a "shit hook"


*************************************** Last night Jay and I watched a very interesting documentary on "The Donner Party"....gruesome. I also dreamed about trying to locate my old creative writing professors, Simone Zelich and Rodney Jones. Maybe I'll look their names up on Google!!

Mom called and babbled (I enjoy her babbling, actually!) for about 40 minutes. She has to move out of her place that she's sublet on Friday, and she can't seem to find a place to rent..(she said "I want to ask these people..WHAT IS WRONG WITH ME?" There is nothing at all wrong with mom..she just isn't having any luck!)
There is a world-famous (though I've never heard of them) group of jugglers and other circus types that run something called the Hiccup Circus on the Big Island (Pahoa in particular) and they have a bunch of land and there are little houses they rent out to people, so my mom decided she's gonna rent one of those cuz one just became available, so my mom will officially be living on the same land as "circus people"...COOL!!!