2003-02-27 : Season of the Witch
When I look out my window, Many sights to see.
And when I look in my window,
So many different people to be
That it's strange, so strange.
You've got to pick up every stitch,
You've got to pick up every stitch,
You've got to pick up every stitch,
Mm, must be the season of the witch,
Must be the season of the witch, yeah,
Must be the season of the witch.
When I look over my shoulder,
What do you think I see ?
Some other cat looking over His shoulder at me
And he's strange, sure he's strange.
You've got to pick up every stitch,
You've got to pick up every stitch,
Beatniks are out to make it rich,
Oh no, must be the season of the witch,
Must be the season of the witch, yeah,
Must be the season of the witch.
You've got to pick up every stitch,
The rabbits running in the ditch,
Beatniks are out to make it rich,
Oh no, must be the season of the witch,
Must be the season of the witch,
Must be the season of the witch.
When I look.
When I look out my window,
What do you think I see ?
And when I look in my window,
So many different people to be
It's strange, sure it's strange.
You've got to pick up every stitch,
You've got to pick up every stitch,
The rabbits running in the ditch,
Oh no, must be the season of the witch,
Must be the season of the witch,
yeah, Must be the season of the witch.
When I look, when I look.


*Donovan, "Season of the Witch"


****************************************

Last night I rented George A. Romero's "Season of the Witch" (which I'd seen in high school) and another Something Weird video "Teenage Passion Killers." Jay and I watched "Season of the Witch." (thus the Donovan quote, since it's the theme song for that movie) and I still really like the movie, though it has some of the usual cheesy cliche's that most flicks from the late 60's and early 70's do, but it still remains effective after all these years (at being slightly..CREEPY..)

Speaking of chilling, you need to read SquirrelX's most recent entry (or the one before that if she's updated)...amazing stuff. I read it this morning and while in the shower afterwards I was feeling TOTALLY freaked out!!

I'm wearing an all purple outfit today. Yikes! Am I a subconscious follower of the cult of PRINCE or something??

When I got home last night Jay seemed frazzled and he told me about his afternoon at work (he works as a driver for a retirement home)...The afternoon's activity involved driving about 15 seniors to dine at Chinook's for lunch (a fancy seafood place). He dropped them all off at the door and then went to park the bus. When he got back inside the restaurant he found that one of the ladies was sitting on the floor right inside the door and he was concerned, naturally. He asked what had happened, and apparently while she was coming through the door, a man in front of her (not part of the senior group) didn't hold the door for her and it slammed into her and knocked her down. So the EMT's were called cuz she said she felt kind of strange and Jay was having to try to figure out what to do w/her and keep the other seniors calm. Then to top things off, Chinook's had screwed up the reservations and didn't have one for this group of seniors. Eventually they were all seated (except for the lady that was knocked down, who was taken to a hospital (the exact one, Jay was not informed on and this stressed him out even further)..so it all ended well, but he said it was hard handling those type of situations alone *usually the "activities coordinator" goes along since Jay is, after all, just "the driver" not a "care taker" Jay said he had an interesting conversation with one of the older gentlemen seated next to him. This man had watched a recent documentary on an obscure tribe in New Guinea who all knocked on their heads with their fists when in approval of something. I find that rather interesting. Maybe I should try it at work to see how it goes over.


Jay just called and told me about his strange dream. He was hanging out with Jackie Chan (!?!?) and they both had Fender Stratocasters and were playing guitar together (this is such a GUY dream, I swear!) and then suddenly Jay, Jackie Chan and some other non-famous guy were in the deep south, walking in the streets of some small town in Mississippi when they came upon a large Ku Klux Klan parade, and Jay was holding his guitar (?) and a "retarded" guy named Bill started threatening Jay because he wouldn't play "Dixie" and Jackie Chan was hiding behind a bush and when this Bill fellow walked by, Jackie attacked him with violent martial arts theatrics.

It almost sounds like a made-up dream, doesn't it? Maybe Jay is LYING! I doubt it, though. I can't remember my dreams, but I bet they were slightly witchy.

Ps...Jay's band, Donner Party of Four, finally has a SHOW! I'm pretty excited. They are playing Zac's (for those of you in Seattle) on Sunday March 16th, with some touring bands (one of whom I believe is called The Duchess of Saigon and are sort of 60's garage-rock)..Come one, Come all!!