2003-03-06 : The Ides of March and Meowy Mookie
WARNING: PART OF THIS ENTRY CONTAINS CUTESY TALK ABOUT MY CATS. IF THIS SORT OF THING IRRITATES YOU CUZ IT'S JUST TOO FUCKING CUTE...SKIP IT. HA HA HA!!!

Yesterday was very sad (but it wasn't all the animal cruelty sites I was processing internally). Some of it was personal stuff having to do with Jay, but everything is ok now, so nobody worry about me. Today while walking to work I saw a lady carrying a big balloon on a string. The balloon was shaped like a giant strawberry and had a smiley face on it. It made me laugh and smile, which is good. My massage last night also helped ease some of that emotional pain out of my body.

I listened to HOURS worth of "freakbeat" mod stuff (I checked out the 4 cd boxed Nuggets set (Nuggest II) from the library and had to record what I liked cuz the whole thing is due back today)...I must have listened to a little bit of 84 songs total to see which ones I liked in order to tape them. Kinda funny how alot of that stuff sounds the same after awhile. I managed to record a full 90 minute tape worth of songs (which is ALOT of songs) but I couldn't quite get into I'd say at least 3/4 of the stuff. Alot of it was a little too "psych" for me. I prefer the early, fuzzed out garagey stuff (it isn't quite as "mod") that you find on all those Back From The Grave comps (and some of the earlier Nuggets cd comps, oh and Pebbles, too....) God, why am I WRITING about this?

Last night I dreamed that I went with Jay on his job driving the seniors around and that he instructed me to meet him in the grocery store cuz he was bringing the seniors in the bus and we were going to help them get some glasses of lemonade at the store. Strange. I'll have to tell him that. We are going to his parents this weekend. Haven't been there since xmas. Should be both fun and inevitably boring/irritating (we love being around them..for about 36 hours!)

I have turned my cats (esp. Opal (aka: Mookie) my black kittie) into terrible monsters by taking the vet's advice and feeding them not only dry food but a small amount of wet canned cat food twice a day. I swear, mookie follows me around CONSTANTLY now..meowing for that stuff. Do they put kitty crack in that stinky-ass food? Even after I've fed her and she's licking her chops and cleaning her face she'll still chirp at me. The thing that is funny is that up until about a year ago, Mookie NEVER made a sound about anything. She never meowed or talked, only Poppy did (she's been a loud mouth all her life..I wonder if she's part Siamese or something) and now Mookie makes cute little meows all the time. Maybe she's learned from Poppy that making noise get's her attention.

After my massage last night I felt so much STUFF floating through my head (creative stuff, poetry stuff) and I couldn't even get it all out. Now I've lost most of it, damn it, but I did manage to write 1 poem from it. I guess you could call it an ode to spring. Here it is:

The Ides of March

____________________


It's almost sundown before I realize
this is the Ides of March, and what of this?
An ancient warning to Caesar or just a windy, dark day that strikes
some neuron or nerve in me?

The dying sky seems to burn into the ferries
I see in the distant Sound. I listen
to their low, throaty horns
that seem to be greeting the burst
of violets that bruise the uneven ground
that I stand next to.