2003-03-13 : Food entry...Kalamata Olives and why I love them
Jesus H. I've been googling (is that actually a real verb now?) for sites about kalamata olives. I just can't get ENOUGH of those little sour and salty, fleshy eggplant colored suckers...I just ate 10 in a row. The only REAL reason I get a greek salad is to ask for extra kalamata olives (and I like the way Feta and kalamata olives and vinegarette taste all together)..my tastebuds have always tended towards the really salty (though I think anchovies are disgusting), but mostly towards the sour. I used to bring whole lemons as a kid to school (instead of an apple or an orange, as most kids did) and I would peel the lemon or cut it in half and suck all the sour and sweet juices from it. I have a love/hate relationship with that stripped feeling that citric acid leaves on your teeth. Know what I'm talking about? I used to drink a capful of vinegar at the dinner table when we would have spinach (plus I'd douse my spinach w/vinegar, too)...I love cucumbers in a vinegar sauce. I love lime-aid. I was always the odd-ball kid that loved beets and lima beans and spinach and broccolli. I still love all those veggies. I've always hated eggs (for breakfast, I can handle them cooked in cakes and stuff) and all sea-food (which makes me an odd-ball adult, I suppose)..I've always loved sauerkraut, too. Oh, and salami (which reminds me Simone) I hate turnips and cauliflower. Bananas sort of gross me out. Ate one too many, I guess. I used to love mushrooms on pizza and now I can barely deal with mushrooms on anything at all. Isn't it strange how our tastebuds change over time? I want everybody to write a food entry, NOW!

I'm not even hungry and I'm almost having fantasies about food. What's up with that??