2003-04-13 : Liberace's Manager and I WANT TO LIVE!
After work on Friday I went to the bar of the Roosevelt Hotel with some co-workers (including two of my bosses) and it was alot of fun! I drank several "melonini's" (YUM! melon martini's!) and ate some potato skins and talked to a couple of people I didn't know very well. Then I took a bus in my happy and slightly tipsy state back home. I listened to a few songs off the new White Stripes' CD I just bought while Jay put his shoes and socks on, and then about 7:30 we headed over to the Comet Tavern so I could continue my drinking (I was afraid that is I laid down and stopped drinking I'd just fall asleep and we had plans to see some music at the Comet later that night)...so we drank beer and played pool (I'm not very good!) at the Comet and then the bands started. The first band (I never did find out who they were) were really good. They had a soulful female singer and a hard-rockin' backdrop and reminded me of the Bell-Rays, if they reminded me of anybody. At this point, I was pretty fucking drunk and probably would have liked seeing the Backstreet Boys at the Comet Tavern (just kidding)...Then the next band, The Midnight Evil (or something like that) from Minnesota came on. They were noisy and very fast (but not in a hardcore way..more like 70's stoner rock REALLY speeded up)..they were good, too. I decided I didn't want to wait for the Fireballs of Freedom (I've seen them several times before) and I was sick of the Comet (and really should have just gone home to bed) but I got this brilliant idea (duh!) that I'd go to the Vogue. God knows why in my drunken state I had a hankering to go there because Friday night's they play industrial, which I pretty much despise. So I wasted $5.00 by going in there...dancing to one song...looking around at the crowd and just laughing myself silly (One doughy, pale guy with not the BEST body in the world was wearing nothing but black boots and some really strange looking black leather cod piece/thong) I wanted to vomit when being forced to look at his pasty, flabby ass! I only lasted in the Vogue about 20 minutes before I couldn't take the terrible music or the annoying people so I left and went home, but was unable to go to sleep right away because by now I had a terrible headache and the spins, but I took some Ibuprofen and eventually fell asleep.

Woke up yesterday and decided Burger King would make me feel less hung-over (which it did)...I can't believe I still eat fast food sometimes..oh well, it's my secret guilt:) (not so secret anymore!) I also looked around at an antique store that was run by liberace's manager, I swear to god! This ancient queen had so much gold jewelry on (but he was wearing beige cords and some fleece jacket)..it was a strange combo of NW outdoor sportsman fashion and Liberace excess in sparkly jewelry. He kept calling me dear and I decided that he was quite the cool old guy. What a character! I bought a cool old black candlestick holder for $2.00 (it looks like it's from either India or China) and a great pair of mid 60's sparkly silver "dancing slippers" (as the liberace guy called them)..they have circular rhinestone buckles...very cute..now I need to find something to wear w/them!! Then I went to a pet store and purchased Flea stuff (both Advantage and "Flea Away" which is mainly comprised of this funky stuff called Diatomaceous Earth) and treated the cats and the carpet, washed the bedding, etc. It feels good to be rid of the fleas! The cats aren't scratching and chewing anymore...

I rented and watched "Red Dragon" and "Born on the Fourth of July" (which I'd never seen)..."Red Dragon" was pretty good..much better than Hannibal, but not as good as "Silence of the Lambs" of course. "Born of the Fourth of July" was pretty good as far as Oliver Stone movies go (I DESPISE Oliver Stone's way of over-the-top directing..very irritating..I'm not his biggest fan!) Today I might see my friend Jill and I have another movie to watch "I want to LIVE!" which is a movie from 1957 with Susan Hayward as a petty criminal and prostitute that goes to prison for a murder she says she didn't commit..sounds juicy! Well, I need to eat a little something, so until next time...