2003-04-17 : The Family Land, Kissing and French Fries with Pepper
I just ate a banana flavored life-saver and it was delicious! My stomach is rumbling even though I ate a toasted English Muffin only about an hour ago and drank some milk (which is making me rather gassy for some reason...my poor co-workers!)

My mom called yesterday and sounded sad. The family land is going to be sold by her and her 4 siblings: Uncle Mike (the manic-depressive, alcoholic failed businessman who owes "the estate" 30,000 because of a loan that he had my grandmother co-sign, which he never paid and therefore my grandmother had to pay it..he lives in Florida and most of his kids have a big resentment towards him. He once walked/jumped through a plate glass window in the dizzying heights of mania) Uncle Abby (the manic-depressive, alcoholic "black sheep" of the family who will talk your ear off until you excuse yourself to go to the bathroom. Who was once married to Donna, who is schizophrenic and who is the mother of my cousins Matt and Mason. Uncle Abby has been to jail several times, likes the beat poets and jazz and was once a coal miner!) Aunt Mary Jane (never keeps her jobs, has a major spending addiction. I used to hate her when I was a kid. This was before she took anti-depressants and she was a cranky bitch! Now she's pretty cool. She's having an affair with a German businessman and she takes blues cruises with him. She lives in grandma's house right now and when she was young and had long straight hair of the early 70's she looked full-blooded Cherokee to me.) and the youngest, Uncle John (Aka: ZZ-top Uncle. ZZ-Top has always been his fave band. He's 6'7 and a constant teaser (also a heavy drinker) and he looked exactly like a young Paul McCartney when he was a teen..his other nickname is: Hash, which he says is a shortened version of the family name: Harshbarger, but I think we all know what it REALLY is all about)..anyways, all of them are pretty attached to this land that has been in the family since the mid 1800's, but they all agree it should be sold for a profit. My mom was crying to me on the phone (poor mom) because the land reminds her of when she was a girl. She'd go out on the tractor with her dad. I think she's still grieving over her mom. Hell, I'm sure she'll always miss her parents (my grandpa has been dead since 1988)...I can't even imagine how my psyche will be affected when my mom dies. I don't even want to THINK about it. I'm really close to my mom. I always have been.

Ok, happier subjects: Jay and I watched "24 Hour Party People" last night. Hilarious. Fucking great. There are so many funny parts I can't even begin to name them. It was cool hearing some of my favorite Joy Division songs in there too. I found the first half of the movie more interesting because I never got into the Happy Monday's or that whole Manchester rave culture (which is what the 2nd half of the movie is about to a degree)...highly recommended. Speaking of people that live in Northern England..I had a dream about a certain Diarylander from those parts..he will remain unnamed...The only hint is that he likes Garfield. I dreamed he kissed me (???) and that though it was very enjoyable, he had very small, sharp teeth and I was afraid they would cut me. Strange, eh?

My friend Jill (whom I was supposed to get together with after work tonight) called me last night...she's sick with the flu. This is very reminiscient of a few months back when Jay and I both had the flu and were driving in the car and Jay had to vomit as he was driving and I handed him a plastic bag not knowing it had a hole in the bottom...OOPs! What a mess! Poor Jill said she was driving herself home from work yesterday and ended up puking on her skirt as she was driving. I'm happy to report that I've never vomited on myself while driving. THen again..I don't drive anymore. I did have to suddenly get off a bus one time at the closest busstop while on my way to work (this was about a year ago) and I ended up puking up strawberries and yogurt in a patch of grass by a parking lot in the University District. It was pretty embarrassing. Ok, enough about puke.

Ok, per mechy's request, here are a few more question for my faithful readers:

#1 Do you like ketchup on your scrambled eggs?

#2 Do you like pepper on your french fries (reminds me of that Morphine song)?

#3 Have you ever had food poisoning?

#4 Do you think you use a spoon or fork more in your daily life?

Here are my answers:

#1 I hate scrambled eggs. I want to dry heave when I see people eat eggs with ketchup...

#2 I LOVE pepper on french fries. I love pepper on everything...I use pepper more frequently than salt

#3 I have had food poisoning more than once I believe...bad Mexican and also tainted potato salad...bad results!

#4 I think I use forks and spoons equally...I use spoons to spoon wet cat food into the cat bowls and to eat yogurt, but I use a fork for all the other things I eat!

Those were really dull questions..sorry!