2003-04-22 : A Shaving Accident and Bring Your Pets to Work Day
Today is "Bring Your Child to Work" Day. I didn't bring any children because I don't have any. Some people brought their cousins, their nieces and nephews, etc, but I don't even have any of those living in this state. Maybe I'm a crab. Maybe I'm an old, pinch-faced Victorian Spinster in a long grey dress, but I agree with the "children should be seen, not heard" saying. Ok..maybe I don't agree with it, but I honestly find all these kids around a big distraction, and not in a "fun and cute" way. I'm just not a fan of kids. I think teenagers are cool, but not KIDS. I don't know why I feel this way. I love being around my niece and nephew, but not other people's loud kids. Kids just make me want to take a valium. Kid-lovers probably view me the same way I view people that say "I don't like music." or "I don't like animals." I can't imagine a life without music or animals, and most people probably can't imagine a life without children, but I CAN!

I just heard the Carpenters when I was on hold with Kitsap Physicians Service and Rehabilitation (I wonder what the Rehabilitation is all about?)...It wasn't "Rainy Days and Mondays" (...always get me DOOOOWWWN...) Monday's get me down, but I don't think Rainy Days do. The Carpenters remind me of impossibly tight and strangling turtlenecks in shades of maroon and brown or teal. They also remind me of anorexia. The piano and soft voices are sweet, but at the center of the Carpenters is something tragic and rotten!! You know what else gets me down? Spilling rice all over the kitchen floor and then having the vacuum spit it all back up on the carpet! Opening a can of smelly, wet cat food only to have the juices get on my clothes or fingers.

I forgot to tell about my near fatal shaving accident. On Sunday evening I decided to take a bath and shave my legs. Most of the time I never cut myself, but I nicked a spot right above my right ankle something fierce. I got out of the shower and lines of blood were running down onto my foot, the floor, the purple bathmat. Even when I wiped and wiped and applied pressure with kleenex that wound dribbled blood. I started to feel woozy..I guess the sight of blood makes me a little sick and I called Jay (who was sleeping in the living room) into the bathroom and told him to please get me a band-aid cuz I was feeling a big lightheaded. So he plopped a big ol bandage over my dribbling wound and everything was fine. The cut still stings a little, though in the shower and when I put socks over it. I remember one time when I was living with my ex-husband and I came into the kitchen one morning after waking up. He was rinsing his arm under water and it looked like PINTS of blood were rolling off his arm. I immediately had to sit down and put my head between my legs. It turned out that the cat had either bitten or scratched him and though the cut/scratch wasn't that deep, the cat of running water over it, made for a blood bath visual. Too I'll never be able to be a surgeon (ha ha!)

Last night Jay and I watched "Rude Boy"...I haven't seen that since seeing half of it on Nightflight back when I was a teen in the mid to late 80's. It was a good flick (esp. since I'm a big Clash fan) but a little long towards the end. Tonight I will watch "The Maltese Falcon" (which I've never seen before..shocking, eh?) and possibly eat a beef pot pie and drink some more Lime-Ade!