2003-04-27 : -
To everybody that was concerned about me yesterday..thanks! I love you all! I feel So much better today. Obviously I needed to really sink down in the muck in order to get back up to this normal level. I actually woke up today feeling HAPPY and chipper. I wasn't mad at Jay...I wasn't crying..I was just making blueberry muffins and bacon. It's warm and sunny and I'm playing the PERFECT Sunday morning comp. made by sambadelic (she's on my "faves" go read her..she rocks!) This comp is SO me...check it out: #1 The Ventures (Fuzzy & Wild)..this song is FUZZY. I don't think we own the album that this comes off of. #2 Enoch Light..My Silent Song (something I'm not familiar with but it's gorgeous and so Sunday Spring Morning...) #3 Nancy Sinatra/Lee Hazelwood "Some Velvet Morning"..this song is eerie and beautiful..FINALLY, I've got the original..I used to own the Lydia Lunch/Roland S. Howard version..god knows what happened to it. It's just a fab song!! #4 Tom Scott with the California Dreamers "Today" (I think I almost like this version as much as the Jefferson Airplane one (which always makes me cry..but this version doesn't..thank god..no more tears!) #5 Lalo Schifrin (Two Petals, a Flower and a Young Girl)...reminds me of a picture I can't quite put into words. #6 The Beach Boys (Don't Talk/Put Your Head on My Shoulder)...I'm not a Beach Boys fan but this song is pretty fucking good! #7 The Swingie Singers- (Tango in D. Minor) (makes me want to put on my new silver mod "dancing slippers") #8 Herb Alpert (Taste of Honey)...doesn't everybody own a copy of this record? Such great stuff! I once did a sexy strip-tease to this and a few others off of "Whipped Cream" for my ex-husband..sizzling! #9 Donovan (Isle of Islay)...Donovan was a sexy mofo..I really like him! #10 Gabor Szabo with the California Dreamers (White Rabbit)...I love crazy versions of hit songs like this!! #11 Love (Orange Skies)...everybody knows how much I dig LOVE..cuz Arthur Lee is like..THE MAN..Orange Skies makes me want to have Arthur's children...I don't care if he's pushing 60!! #12 The Johny Arthey Orchestra (Sunshine Superman)...this instrumental version is unspeakable..I love it! #13 Marianne Faithful (In the Night Time)...angel voice..got to fuck Mick..I'm SOOOOO jealous. Damn it! #14 Gary McFarland & Gabor Szabo (The Word)...this version reminds me of a acid trip starting to go "bummer" but in the best way (kind of like in "The Trip") #15 The National Gallery (Longhair Soulful)...God, WHAT does this remind me of? Crosby, Stills, Nash and Young move over..there is something MUCH meatier! #16 Lalo Schifrin (How to Open at Will the Most Beautiful Window)--Is this not the COOLEST song title? For some reason this song instantly brought to mind the flick "Rosemary's Baby"..isn't that strange?

#17 Beach Boys (Our Prayer)--very short!!---Ok, I just have to admit it..I just despise the Beach Boys..I can't even get into Pet Sounds, which just sent my "hip girl" cred down the drain..he he.

Anyways..its a WONDERFUL comp and I don't have any comps like it...I'm gonna record it to tape and play it when I walk to work...I'll never be sad again:)

I have book club today...I'm just about to go out and purchase a key lime pie from whatever grocery has one!

Last night I went to The Vogue by myself. Some people I know a little where supposed to show up but I got sick of waiting for them. I did dance to a VERY old Ministry song...an Echo and the Bunnymen song and a Heaven 17 song to name a few and then this semi-attractive, but ultimately "creepy in a way I can't totally put my finger on" guy (he was DARK and long gorgeous hair..hispanic and German) named John asked if he could sit with me so I let him though I felt anti-social and slightly neurotically nervous about attracting a man to my table. He makes pottery, is on unemployment..grew up in Walla Walla (not much to do there!) and just got kicked out of his house by his woman (he has 2 kids with her) 2 days ago and and is now sleeping in his truck. I felt bad for him but when he went to the bathroom, I decided to escape, so I grabbed my purse and coat and literally ran out the door and the two blocks home. Sometimes I am just a social idiot!! Oh well...it was fun dancing and I wished I'd been left alone, cuz I would have stayed longer, but if a guy comes in and is #1 mentally unstable #2 homeless...they will latch on to me...it never fails. What kind of a vibe do I give out? I guess they can tell that I'm a pretty open and fairly non-judgemental person (HA! Little do they know that I write scathing diaryland entries about them!) I do like meeting people from EVERYWHERE but I just don't want to sleep with them all! After the bookclub (at 6pm) tonight, I might go to a strange circus...."Carnival Reverie"..it's only like a block from my house...I think I should go.

OHHHH! The Buzzcocks are playing here June 10...I'm THERE! I saw them about 4 years ago..blew me away. They play alot of their old stuff (duh..of course!) and they sound exactly like they did in 1977..it's amazing! Be there or be square (Tracita..you guys GOTTA come up for it..come the weekend before and stay here!) The Buzzcocks remind me of me and Tracita (dutch cheese) riding around in my car, listening to "Sixteen Again" and "Fiction Romance", etc....Should be a fucking great show!