2003-04-28 : Sunny days, yard sales, Cuban pork and Stuff like that
My mood has been so much better the past two days. Perhaps it is because the sun is out in full force and it's nearly 70 degrees right now. Hell, I was walking around in a skirt, socks, shoes and just a short sleeved shirt yesterday. In our neighborhood there are many, many magnolia and cherry blossom trees in bloom and the petals are also all over the sidewalks. I also noted all the tulips everywhere and I stopped to smell a fragrant (not as fragrant as the white kind, though) lilac tree down the street as I was walking to refil a prescription yesterday afternoon.

I went on a search for a key lime pie yesterday, but couldn't find one and ended up taking a "lemon sour cream" pie to the bookclub party. While walking on broadway I was stopped by a fairly attractive (and tattooed) boy (ok, MAN..not boy.) who asked if I'd give spare change in exchange for him reading me one of his poems. I was game for that, obviously! So he read me a poem about a girl he loved and talked about kissing her forehead and cheeks. He wasn't the best poet, but he wasn't too bad at the same time. I gave him a buck. When I came back around to where he was later (I wanted another poem) he had vanished.

Bookclub food was good: spicy red beans and rice and some sort of Cuban pork dish...I found the lemon pie I bought way too icky and gloppy for my liking.

I went home and watched many episodes of the Osbournes on MTV and then went to bed.

Oh, I went to two separate yard sales (more like corner/curb/sidewalk sales) that were about 3-4 blocks from my apartment yesterday. I got a "The Adventures of Raggedy Ann" book for 50 cents (WHOO! I collect Raggedy Ann/Andy stuff) and then at a separate sale I got all this for $10.00: 1 vintage chair (wood with a green vinyl seat)..we desperately need another chair so we can BOTH sit at our table and eat. The chair was $5.00. Then I got a pair of dark red (cherry/maroon) Converse low-tops (I only like low-tops...I'm a hipster!) that were EXACTLY my size for $2.00. I also got a cute red and white checked short-sleeved men's vintage shirt (SEARS) for $1.00, very comfy..I love checked shirts! And for $2.00 I bought a VHS copy of "Guess Whose Coming to Dinner"...can you say, SCORE!??