2003-05-08 : Food for the Soul
Lynn and I are going to eat some soul food after work tonight. We're going to the Kingfish Cafe (which I've never been to) and I'm gonna fill myself up with buttermilk fried chicken, greens, cornbread/hush puppies and whatever else I can get my hands on. Word has it that the food there is to die for. I guess their desserts melt in your mouth, too but I rarely ever have room for desserts in restaurants. I might have to make myself sick this time and eat dessert too (sweet potato pecan pie..YUMMMM!) We always have alot of fun together. We act like idiots, we laugh at ourselves and other people and we have good conversation. I'm loooking forward to it.

Saturday Jay and I are meeting his parents at the Cyclops Cafe (? Never heard of it..guess it's in Belltown) for an early Mother's Day lunch. Neither of them have ANY idea that our marriage is crumbling away. I'll let him tell them when he moves out. They are HIS parents after all and I wouldn't know quite what to say or how to explain it. I feel guilty around them now in a way. I feel sort of like I am living a lie in front of them. Oh well. I hope to remain in contact w/them even if we split for good because they've been like second parents to me here and though I bitch about their ways sometimes, I really like them and I know they really like me. I need to think of something to get his mom for mother's day. Maybe a nice flowering plant. Who knows..she's easy to shop for, thank god!