2003-05-08 : The Hat Pin
Somebody at work sent this joke to me. I chuckled and thought it was worth sharing:

*********************

> A man goes to the minister at his church.

> "Reverend," he said, "I have a problem. My wife

> keeps falling asleep during your sermons. It's very

> embarrassing, not to mention disrespectful. What can

> I do?" "I've noticed this and have an idea if

> you're up to the task," said the minister. "Take

> this hat pin with you. I can see when Mrs. Jones is

> sleeping, and I will motion to you. When I motion,

> you give her a good poke in the leg with the hat

> pin. In church the following Sunday, Mrs. Jones

> dozed off. Noticing this, the preacher put his plan

> to work. "And who made the ultimate sacrifice for

> you?" he said, nodding to Mr. Jones. "Jesus!" Mrs.

> Jones cried out as her husband jabbed her in the leg

> with the sharp hat pin.

> "Yes! You are correct, Mrs. Jones!" came the

> minister's quick reply. Mrs. Jones then turned and

> glared angrily at her husband. Soon, Mrs. Jones

> again nodded off. The minister noticed. "Who is

> your redeemer?" he asked the congregation, motioning

> toward Mr. Jones. "My God!" howled Mrs. Jones as she

> was stuck again with the pin. "Right again!"

> bellowed the minister, a slight grin on his face.

> Mrs. Jones again gave her husband a real hard,

> threatening glare. Before long though she again

> nodded off. This time however the minister did not

> notice. As he picked up the tempo of his sermon, he

> made a few hand gestures that Mr. Jones mistook as

> signals to poke his wife with the hat pin again. He

> jabbed her hard in the leg just as the minister

> asked, "And what did Eve say to Adam after she bore

> him his 99th son?" Mrs. Jones jumped up and shouted

> at her husband, "You stick that thing in me one more

> time and I'll break it in half and shove it where

> the sun don't shine!" "Amen!" replied all the women

> in the congregation.