2003-05-14 : I'm going to Prague, come Hell or High Water...The Architecture is calling my name
I could barely sleep last night. I have Prague on the brain. The gorgeous Gothic buildings are whispering my name. I'm now obsessed with the idea of going abroad (and living in Prague, possibly teaching English)..I can't stop thinking about it which is a tell-tale sign to me that I MUST do it. I even have decided on a date I want to shoot for: Oct. 29. I'm gonna do the Virgo thing and check out books about living in Prague and I'm gonna bug Adaveen for tons of info and a recap of all her experiences as far as living in Prague (which she loved)...Hell, maybe she'll throw caution to the wind and come with. I'm doing it. Come hell or high water, I'm getting rid of my stuff, leaving the cats with SOMEBODY (don't know who yet) dependable for a couple of months, quitting my job and going to Prague at the end of October. My friend Katie (she lives here and I met her through my book club) happens to be going to visit people in Scotland in mid December and she asked if I wanted to meet her in Scotland..so that would be kick-ass!! R said airline would be cheap then. I can deal with a cold winter in Europe. I lived through 25 years of below freezing Illinois winters. I'm so excited. So, WHO else in Europe can I VISIT? COME ON....let me crash on your couch!!

Well, Jay said he WOULDN'T take the cats if I went to Europe. What a prick. He loves those animals like they are his own and they love him but they are too much "responsibility"..whatever. I think he's being a total asshole about that. I felt like slapping him last night. He can be such a prick for no good reason. I cannot WAIT until he moves out. He found out he has to pay a deposit to move into this room, so he was all bitchy and pissy about that. He DID just sell a guitar for $700.00 (he planned on using that $$ to buy another guitar that he wants) but I guess he'll be using the $$ to pay for this room...too fucking bad. We can't all go around buying and selling guitars when we need to pay rent and other bills. Can you tell I'm fed up with him. Please remind me not to EVER date/marry an immature musician again, OK?

Watched this cool movie called "Claudine." The soundtrack is something I might seek out. Music by Gladys Knight and the Pips and written by Curtis Mayfield. It's a little dated (the fashions and some of the dialogue..it's from 1974) but I thought it kicked ass. Diahann Carroll and James Earl Jones...struggles in Harlem for a single mother and her six kids and the garbageman she becomes involved with. I guess she was nominated for a Golden Globe and an Oscar back then for this role. I'd never even heard of this movie. That is the wonderful thing about the library. I go in...rummage through the video shelves and come out with great movies for FREE. YEEE..I'm happy today..I can barely concentrate on work. Ok...I better get down to it!!