2003-05-28 : Courthouse Bullshit and a secret date
Went to the Courthourse today to turn in my application for a passport and pay the $85.00 fee (YOWZA!) Why is it that government buildings and workers are so irritating? First I had to pass through inspection;metal detectors. I understand that they have to have this done for safety, but it still irritated me (I wear ALOT of rings and stuff that I have to throw in a basket)..It's just like at the airport. Then I ask the guy at the info desk (who doesn't smile and barely looks at me) where room E-327 is and he mumbles "take those elevators..3rd floor"...I find the room and I've already filled out the passport application (which I got yesterday at the post office) and I present the mumbling clerk (I wanna yell "Speak up..I can't hear you behind your glass cage..and don't look down at your feet when you are trying to talk to me cuz I CAN'T hear you!) with my 2 passport photos, my Wa State Id, and a certified copy of birth certificate. She says they usually want people that don't have a Driver's license to show 2 picture id's, instead of one, but I don't have anything with a picture besides my Wa state Id (and why would I? And what sort of photo Id would I have anyway?) I said several times...well, I don't drive and this is the only photo Id I have. So, she said "We'll let THEM decide" (whomever THEM is) and processes my application and takes my money (OF COURSE..that's the easy part..take the fucking money!) and so hopefully in 4-6 weeks I will receive my very first passport..YIPPEEE! Unless they decide to reject my application because they want another photo Id, and then I guess I'll have to go get some other photo id..stupid.

In the courthouse the only guys I come in contact with are suave-looking lawyers or their young male clients, who've been busted for either DUI or under-age drinking (I overheard two different conversations about this)...

I take a bus down several streets closer to my office building and the bus reeks of human poop. I start to feel that I might vomit if I can't get off soon. There are also people talking really loud about stupid shit and I wish I had my headphones. Finally, I make it back to work. Now I have a headache.

In other news...I'm watching "Zorba the Greek" tonight..should be good.

Oh, I have a top-secret date tommorrow night. That's all I'm saying to keep you all in suspense...he has a nice name and is TAAALLLL..that's all I'll say.