2003-07-22 : R.I.P The Exploding Hearts
Well, L. and I took the bus down to the train station yesterday afternoon and now he's gone. He left a t-shirt behind and it smells like him (his deodarant..which is TOm's of Maine..unscented..only this "unscent" smells exactly like oranges to me. I love the way he smells. So, Yes..being the dork-in-love that I am, I hugged his shirt and buried my face in it as I tryed to go to sleep last night. My bed felt extra big and lonely. I can't wait until I can sleep in the same bed as L. every night. Only 25 more days.

Ever heard of the Exploding Hearts? Didn't think so. Anyways, I'm not sure if they were from Portland or Seattle or someplace in between but over the weekend they were driving back from a show (I'm assuming..I haven't read all the details) and one of the guys fell asleep at the wheel. They weren't wearing seat belts..he went off the road..woke up and tryed to pull the van back over and the van rolled, ejecting the members. The band is no more because 3 of 4 of the Exploding Hearts died. I didn't know them personally, but I liked the Cd Jay played for me and I just find it very sad. They were all in their early 20's, I believe. PLEASE....if you feel sleepy, PULL OVER. Even if it takes you 8 hours to do a 4 hour trip, you might save your life, and WEAR YOUR SEATBELTS! Jay told me the news about this band yesterday. They were on dirtnap records (good label, by the way!) and he was trying to contact the owner of dirtnap to set up an interview w/the Exploding Hearts (maybe for the Seattle Weekly..he is gonna start writing for them, I believe) but he was told it probably wasn't gonna work out too well (the interview) because most of the band members had died over the weekend. I wanted to see them when they last came to town but I believe I was out of town.

Anyways, that's about all from here. I'm tired and sweaty from walking to work.