2003-07-29 : Can I just tell you how much I love my kitties?
Why I love my kitties:

They can sit on a tiny window ledge ALL DAY LONG and watch (they are statue still) this one pidgeon (pigeon..how DO you spell that fucking word?) that is perched almost RIGHT next to them..they COULD reach it if they jumped in the air but they wouldn't dare. I love watching Poppy (esp. Poppy!) and Opal watch the pidgeon. They are so fascinated by it. Then I can be in the bathroom (the stupid door will NOT shut all the way...or if it does the wind blows it open, but I live alone so who cares) and I can still hear Poppy cackling at the birds across the way. I LOVE that gobble, gobble sound she makes. She makes a different gobble, gobble sound every time she jumps on my bed or the couch. She sniffs around the toilet and when I speak to her she talks back. Sometimes its a loud meow, as if she's REALLY complaining or wanting something. Sometimes I'm convinced she's telling me that Opal and her big black fat ass (no, that isn't a racial slur!) just fell off the ledge, and I go racing out there, but Opal is always just sitting in the window, her round face and jelly bean nose...all quiet and content. I swear that I can just LOOK at Opal and she starts purring from across the room. She's the sweetest. She Always lets me pet her (unlike Poppy, who is moody and maybe needs an anti-anxiety medication..ha ha)

I love how they ALWAYS have to come and sniff around the bathroom when ever I"m in there....I'm sitting on the toilet and Opal is rubbing against my legs....recently she started doing this strange and adorable acrobatic trick...she'll come by my legs and then use the side wall to slide backwards and onto the floor so she's showing me her belly..it's really funny when she does this. Opal also doesn't always try to find my legs to sleep on like Poppy does (which irritates me sometimes) but it's still cute that Poppy has to find that certain perfect spot.

I love how they usually rush to the door when they hear my keys (or even they identify my walking up the steps...I heard that your animals can distinguish YOUR step from other tenants)

Opal is always begging for wet food, even if I just GAVE it to her. It gets really old sometimes but I still talk to her. I talk to her like a child "Now, I just gave you some. Why are you asking for more?" She just sort of chirps.

I love watching them eat cat nip off the floor...they don't react right away. They just munch, lick, munch. But then they'll both be rolling on their backs in the stuff before you know it.

I love how much Poppy is a "guy gal"...she adores men. I think she prefers my current mate to me. Whatever guy I'm with..she adores him. She loves to rub her chin against goatees or any other facial hair on or near the chin. She usually takes these men by surprise the first time or two she does it.

And Opal....she just DIES for my affection. She flops over on my hand...shoves her head into my palm...lays sideways, crooked, anything to by on my fingers. It makes me smile. ALOT!

I love my kitties and they love me (and the food!)

Oh yea..and they are the best slow-mo kung-fu fighters when they wrestle and slap each other..it rocks!