2003-08-01 : The 25th Hour and Nudist Beaches
Went to the dentist yesterday afternoon. Too bad that I'm leaving Seattle cuz I REALLY liked this place. I don't know if it was the fact that "The Hustle" was playing in the background as they had me stand in front of this odd machine to take full x-rays of my teeth, or the fact that the view from the windows was great or that my dental hygeniest was REALLY considerate and down-to-earth, but the place RULED. I went in there and told her that I did NOT want them to use the cavitron (or whatever she called it)..it's that little suction/hose thing they like to put in your mouth for the entire cleaning these days..it lets a steady trickle of water run down your throat. The last time I went to the dentist (and the first time I was exposed to this torture device) I kept choking and freaking out about the constant trickle of water running down my throat. I have a BAD gag reflex when it comes to the dentist office. But this dental hygienist listened to my fears/concerns and preferences and she was awesome. She scraped and scraped. I love that "it sort of hurts cuz it's making my gums bleed, but it sort of feels SOOOO GOOD in an itch that needs to be scratched way" feeling I get from getting my teeth cleaned. My teeth always sort of "hurt" after the cleaning. I feel like I can wiggle them around or something. She complimented me on my lack of fillings (I only have two very small ones) and told me how healthy my bones/gums looked over all so I was proud (it's mostly genetics..I don't take care of my teeth all THAT well..I was blessed with good, strong teeth)..the Bad news is that the two fillings I do have (they are ancient..I got them when I was a kid..pre-teen) are really starting to fall apart, so I have to go in the week right before I leave to have those removed and redone and then they'll be making my nightguard for my grinding teeth problem, too. I just want to get this all done while I still have insurance (which will expire at the end of August)...Unfortunately I have to pay some out-of-pocket for the nightguard and the fillings, but they told me if I just put something down (I can give like $200.00) they could just bill me later for the rest..THANK GOD! That stuff is NOT cheap.

Last night I watched Cops...which is becoming my routine...watch Cops at 6:00 and 6:30 and then turn the bullshit that is "Inside Edition" off (ok, sometimes I watch it...mostly it's crap though)...

Then I invited Jay over because I had rented Spike Lee's latest "joint" "The 25th Hour" and I know he wanted to see it. I also rented "Gummo" because I've wanted to see it since it came out but I've been constantly avoiding it because of the cat-killing scenes (Can anybody tell me HOW much of the movie has cat killing scenes..how long will I have to leave the room/hide my eyes?) I've heard it's a very disturbing flick but worth seeing for it's originality. Anybody have any opinions? I like really fucked up movies..this one might be going a bit too far, though. We'll see.

Anyways, I REALLY liked "The 25th Hour"...it was eerie to watch a movie that discusses and has scenes of "Ground Zero"....There were some really funny scenes...but overall it was a very melancholy movie..well done, though. I pretty much like most of Spike Lee's flicks, though I thought Bamboozled was just a bomb..it was WAY too over-the-top..couldn't get into it. I don't know that he'll ever make anything as great as "Do the Right THing" or "Malcolm X" though....but I'm curious to see what he continues to do.

Larry hates Spike Lee. He considers him pompous and racist. I can see why he'd think that but he hasn't even WATCHED a single Spike Lee film. He's just going off some other source. I told him he really needs to watch at least one before he judges. Alot of people are offended by Spike Lee's "In your face" aggressive style but I like it personally and I don't mind that he pushes my buttons as a white person.

Well, the count-down begins to drinking green and purple martinis. I will eat dinner at the same time so I drink on a full stomach. I'm looking forward to it. Everybody keeps thinking today is my last day, but it's actually NEXT Friday. I wish it was my last day today, though.

Oh, Larry has been going to some river lately (it's sort of a nude beach) and he's now ended up with a sunburned ass and he says the tip of his dick is also sunburned..Hello..SUNSCREEN..DUH! It cracks me up! He says he'll take me to this river cuz it's fun. I don't know if I have the nerve to strip down. I'm very modest by nature. Maybe topless..just topless..but I don't know about BUTT NEKID. I'm not ready for that yet! I'm just learning how to sleep in the nude with Larry. I'm so used to wearing jammies (whether I have a lover or not)...I guess it must be some Catholic repression or something..Ha Ha!