2003-08-24 : First Week in Springfield: NRA, Blackberry picking at the Grandparents, Drunken Pool and my 3 new FISH
Let's see. I've been lazy as shit and alot of my stuff still isn't unpacked, but either Larry is really patient or he's seething but hides it well. I've become SO lazy since I moved here a week ago. It's weird (and nice) being unemployed. So much fucking TIME. I don't know what to do, so you know what I usually end up doing? Taking alot of naps!! I've already spent an hour in a gun shop with Larry (who had taken a rifle his grandfather has (a 1905 Japanese rifle)...so I feel that I am a true member of Springfield since I stood around in a gun shop (they did have some Nazi memoribilia that I ended up looking at)....towards the end the owner was asking Larry if he was an NRA member and telling him that he could sign up there and about the membership signup fees and I was KICKING Larry behind the counter as a warning to him about how he BETTER NOT FUCKING JOIN THE NRA (which he wouldn't)..it was funny, though.

A couple of days ago we drove out to Dorena (it's RURAL) to L's grandparents "farm" and picked 9 pounds of blackberries so that our roomie can make make mead (meed/mede/meade?)....we need another 11 pounds of berries, though. Picking the berries was NOT fun because we forgot to apply bugspray and we got eaten alive. Then his grandparents came home and I sat in their modest kitchen eating lukewarm Little Caesar's pizza. I like his grandparents. They remind me of midwestern folk. Just regular farmer/small town types. His grandfather is 81 and he has a white beard (which had pizza stuck in it..ha ha) and wears farm hats and likes beer and swears alot..he's a character alright! I don't have any grandparents left so I'd like to borrow Larry's grandparents:)

What else....went out Friday night to Jim's Landing and played terrible pool (I bashed my finger and it was bleeding..for some reason that is really amusing when drunk)...and played the same songs I always play on the jukebox (cuz they have a so-so jukebox) and drank WAY too much beer and I was pretty hungover all yesterday. Last night I took it easy and this morning I woke up well rested and we went to Ye Old House of Pancakes or something and I ate potato pancakes, and then we went to the Fish Store (It's not really called the Fish Store) and I now am the proud parent of 3 fish (Larry has a really nice fishtank up in our room)...2 fish are tiger barbs and 1 is a green barb....The green barb is named Ophelia and the other two are Desdemona and Othello. Larry is amused that I named my fish as soon as we got them out of the store cuz he has some fish that he's never named. I'm funny like that. Well, I'm gonna go smoke a cigarette.

Oh yea...I love living with Tracy and Hans too...it feels like home:) xoxoxoxo