2003-09-23 : Natural Health and Crying Babies
I'm feeling a little better this afternoon..but then again, when I have flu/cold symptoms I always feel the worst at night and first thing in the morning. I've been drinking tons of "Gypsy Cold Care" tea and sucking on "Fishermen's Friend" and just lazing around. This morning my voice was almost gone. I had to call Accountemps and cancel my "appointment" with them (I'll reschedule) because I felt so terrible. The receptionist was almost laughing at me sympathetically cuz I could barely squeak out words..I don't seem to actually have laryngitis, though. I've been looking all day through my Herbal Remedies Encyclopedia's, etc..just looking at herbs and remedies and trying to find something for Larry because he's been having terrible insomnia the past 4 nights. He can only seem to sleep about 2-3 hours and then he's wide awake. He took valerian last night but it didn't seem to help. I need to get some lavendar and hops dream pillows or something and see if that helps. I myself have constant trouble falling asleep as well. I wonder if it is because our room is painted red (not that we can see the color in the dark)...I can NEVER fall asleep before 1 or 1:30 am even though I feel sleepy at first (around 11:30)...Lately I've just gotten up and sat on the futon couch and sort of just cleared my mind/meditated in the dark and that helps somewhat. I need to get up earlier so I can fall asleep earlier but so far it just isn't happening.

I can hear the next door neighbor's newborn crying. Poor kid. Even Poppy heard it and came to the window to look. I wonder if it's sick. It must be VERY trying on a parent's nerves when a tiny baby won't stop crying and you don't know what to do to soothe it. This is why I'm not sure I should have kids...I don't think I can handle crying/irritable babies or toddlers very well. I'd run out of patience.

It smells like someone is cooking green beans and it also smells like black pepper. I think I'm hungry.

I have an "interview" thingie for a job working at a natural health clinic on Thursday. I'd LOVE to work at a natural health clinic. In the ad, they said the candidate should be strong, soft and have a good sense of humor. I really liked that they are looking for those qualities...very cool. I'll keep my fingers crossed.

I think lovely Larry is home. I hope he gets some rest tonight, and I hope I get over this cold soon.