2003-09-29 : Scenic Sunday Drive and The Blues
Wow. I managed to sleep for at least 12 hours if not more. I need to start setting an alarm. This is just pathetic!

Yesterday we ended up not going to the Grandparents for Sunday dinner because I'm still sick and Larry might be getting sick and we didn't want to infect the old folks. I'll have to make some bread pudding on my own!

In a way I'm glad we didn't go. I told Larry that I still wanted to go on some sort of scenic Sunday drive. Well, he must have really been in the mood to DRIVE cuz we ended up driving more than 140 miles east through the Deschutes National Forest up to Sisters. Along the way we saw the lava bed fields (amazing...truly amazing. It reminded me of the lava beds in Hawaii) and we made it up to the Dee Wright Observatory...where you climb up steps into this little tower made of stone and you look through little windows/holes and it tells you what mountain(s) you are observing. You can see alot from up there (altitude of 5,000 some odd feet, I think)...You could see The Three Sisters, Mt. Hood, Mt. Washington, amongst other things...it was gorgeous and well worth the drive. I only wish we'd remembered to bring a camera!!

Last night we watched the season premiere of American Dreams (which I like, though I find it a little too sentimental and predictable) and the First installment of the Blues documentaries they are showing on PBS. I guess 7 people/directors look at the blues from their own perspective and different directors direct each episode. Last night was directed by Martin Scorsese, with this blues musician named Corey Harris doing the research/narration/travelling and intereviewing old blues guys. Very fascinating. It goes on for the next 6 nights in a row (at 9 pm PST time, I assume on Pbs..or at least it does here)...Anybody else see it? Makes me wanna find my Robert Johnson and Howlin' Wolf tapes. I'd never heard Sun House and now I wanna find some stuff by him.

Anyways, I gotta look on-line in the paper for a job now...hope I GET ONE!