2003-11-13 : Throbbing Gristle...Throbbing Boredom!
Um. Does anybody actually LIKE Throbbing Gristle? See, cuz I'm listening to Throbbing Gristle..an album I've had for quite awhile but never really pulled out, and I just can't understand the appeal. I suppose it's nice background music. Do you have to be stoned to like Throbbing Gristle? Do I have the WRONG Throbbing Gristle album? Cuz, let me say, I'm about to turn it off. I thought I liked Throbbing Gristle, but maybe I only said that be "cool" at one point in my life. I think my point is..I don't think I even LIKE Throbbing Gristle and probably never did. Hmmm...maybe I'll just throw on Killing Joke instead. I KNOW I still like them...but what if I don't? I have no idea why I'm writing about this...Larry is asleep on the couch and he said to play music "low" and so I'm playing it low. But I don't really want to play it low cuz I'm bored and I need some distraction.

What did I do today? I dyed my hair. I was convinced when the dye was on my head that they'd put the wrong color bottle in the box cuz on my head the color was PURPLE/Black....really dark. I about had a heart attack. I washed it out in the shower and it was like streams of purple kool-aid cascading all over my body and splashing up against every shower wall..amazing how the color eventually gets washed out of the shower, though (but not the fucking curtain)....lo and behold...I toweled my hair off and it was the nice deep red I had wanted..go figure.

I also danced for 40 minutes to "17 Seconds"...The Cure isn't what I'd call up-tempo aerobic exercise music but I worked up a sweat anyway. I also vacuumed the room..just so Larry didn't think I do NOTHING all day (which is pretty much the truth of the matter)...I fed the glorious fish..I think one of the fucking sharks (Bala?) ate either Otis or Redding, one of the two African frogs we put in there..stupid sharks. I want a bunch of gold barbs..they are gorgeous and "gentle" (or so says the pet shop)...we need to get rid of the sharks, they are way too big for the tank, at least compared to the rest of the fish. I never thought I'd spend my time talking about fish. Larry has turned me on to fish. They will never replace cats in my heart, though.

When Larry and I got home we drove up (even though it was walking distance..LAZY!) to this park close to us "Williamette" something... very pretty and really spectacular views. OH THANK GOD..the THrobbing Gristle has ended (at least one side)....anyways, we spread out blankets and it was sunny and kind of cold and I stared at the horizon for a long while and I read a little bit of my new book "The Ecstatic" which is really good. Then we went to Rennie's and ate and drank a beer. What a light weight (me)...only one pint and I felt giddy/woozy.

That's been my day so far...time to change the record.