2004-01-01 : Snow and Waffles
Happy 2004, everyone! Hope everyone had a fun and safe night last night. Tracy, Hans, Larry and I went to the "shitty" bar last night, which actually had a DJ (who played mostly really shitty R&B crap) but I did dance to Caesar (a Dutch band, whose CD Hans and Tracy made the DJ play) and Blondie and Devo (those were my requests, of course)..I did nod along to "(Cum On) Feel the Noise", but don't tell anybody (ha ha)...I drank a pleasant amount, and have a small headache today but no worse for the wear...I had the stomach flu or other virus for about 36 hours recently, but I'm glad to have recovered sufficiently from that. Hans drank WAY too much last night..I have never seen him like that. Way too many shots and too much beer. He was acting strange and it was really irritating/angering Trace, poor Trace. Hopefully he won't be feeling too bad today, but I have a feeling he'll just be sleeping all day.

Well, since I was sick most of this week, the temp agency decided to end my assignment at the Cancer Center immediately. I'm relieved, because I was really tired of that place, but in a way it isn't fair, because I had expected to be able to work all of next week for one last final full check. Now, I'll be getting a check for this week and it will only be for 4 hours. Oh well, I have $$ right now, which I plan on being extremely thrifty with. Trish at Accountemps said she'd try to get something else lined up for me in the next week or two (I hope she does cuz I can't afford to be unemployed longer than that)!!!

I woke up this morning (from a nightmare that almost made me cry in which I was moving to a new house and I had taken my cats with me, but they were loose and I couldn't find them and I had to leave them to roam the streets..I was so scared they'd wind up dead)..anyways, I looked out the window and we have 4-6 inches of snow on the ground, which is the most we have had this year (and Larry said it never snows that much here) so I'm loving looking at how beautiful the snow-frosted trees look!! I might build a snowman if the snow lasts long enough (and if there is really enough to roll into decent sized balls!)

I don't really have any Resolutions for this year, but I would still like to lose about 15 pounds, find a suitable job, and get my ass across the water to Europe if at all possible financially. I'd also like to be more diligent in writing in my paper diary/journal as well.

Oh, I'm taking myself off my antidepressant (Effexor) because I don't find it all that effective but mostly I'm doing it because I have no health insurance and I'm tired of paying $100.00 per month for the stupid medicine. I'm a little frightened because according to alot of stuff I've read on the Internet, Effexor has horrible withdrawal symptoms ("brain-shocks, etc.) whether people taper off OR just get off of it cold turkey (which is what I've chosen to do)..then again, most of those people were trying to get off of anywhere between 150 and 350 mg of it and I only take 37.5 mg, so I might have an easier time. I haven't taken a pill for more than 48 hours and so far I don't seem to have any withdraw symptoms, but we'll see how I feel in 2-3 days from now. Wish me luck! I can always up my sedative a little and take some valerian on top of that..I do have 5 pills left of Effexor just in case the withdrawal becomes to bad that I need to start the drug again. I have a feeling I'll probably need to get on another anti-depressant before too long because I seem to have a moderate problem with depression. I'd like to get a less expensive one, though, and one that supposedly is easy to withdraw from. *yawn*..only got about 5 hours of sleep last night. Went to bed between 4 and 4:30 am, WAYYYY too late!! I plan on reading a new book (I finished the other, *sniff*..didn't want it to end), take naps, eat and maybe watch a movie or two. I bought a VHS copy (we are priviledged to have a DVD AND a VCR in good working order!) of "Buffalo 66" for 4.99 at Blockbuster the other night and I haven't seen that flick since I watched it in the theater. I enjoyed it, though it was a little pretentious and "arty" (not that there is anything wrong with that)....Vincent Gallo is sexy in a seedy and disturbing way, and I'm glad Christina Ricci is out of her blonde phase. She doesn't look good as a blonde! I want to see "Cold Mountain" (I loved the book, so I'm sure the movie will disappoint, but I still wanna go) and I also want to see "Girl with a Pearl Earring" when that comes out!

Well, I've rambled long enough! Auf Wiedersehen!!