2004-01-10 : Chicken and Sausage Gumbo
Oh Mama, I'm tired. I made Chicken and Sausage Gumbo for dinner..it was delish! The only pain in the ass part about making it (and other similar Cajun recipes) is making the rue (sp?)...You combine a small amount of flour and cooking oil and you have to stir it constantly over medium heat (for about 20 minutes) until it is the color of a copper penny. I guess this is what makes the gumbo thicken up. Stirring a hot pot for 20 minutes is not something that I love doing, but the end result was well worth it. I love sweating from spicy food...it feels really healthy and like I'm purifiying all the toxins that my body MUST be chock full of! We ate it with corn bread. I love me some corn bread, warm and slathered with fattening butter. Damn..I'm totally full, but talking about the food makes me want to go eat again.

Tracy and Hans left this afternoon after some delays and other flights cancellations. I think their kitties miss them already, so I'm gonna make extra sure to give extra love to all the kitties downstairs. I'm even gonna invite them all upstairs for cocktails. What would cats like for a cocktail? Fish sauce served in a tiny thimble? YUCK!

We went to Sam Bond's last night to check out this San Fran band, "The Slow Poisoners"...We only stayed for 3 songs. They weren't at all what I had expected (from the description in the fucking Eugene Weekly)...I just couldn't get into them. They reminded me of a indie-rock Jethro Tull, and that my friends, is not something I like. They were also gonna lull me to sleep, so dull. Luckily we only had to

pay a $4.00 cover each. We went across the street to The Tiny Tavern (and it is very itsy-bitsy!) because my favorite local garage-rock covers band, The Shudders, were playing. There was NO cover there, they were playing good punk rock over the sound system before the band went on, and I danced my butt off to the Shudders. I should go back to the Tiny Tavern, because I saw that they serve meat-loaf sandwiches, and that sounds good.

Then we drove around looking for where Tracy and Hans might be spending their last hours before heading to the airport..I had to see them. I was really sad and weepy about them going. We found them at Han's cousins' place (that he shares with his girlfriend, Sam, who is someone I think I could develop a friendship with, she's very cool.) So we all talked and listened to The Kinks, and everybody seemed drunk except for me. I was too tired to get drunk (which makes no sense to me, but it's true)...I feel tired now from cooking dinner so I'm gonna go watch the Antiques Roadshow (I love the British ones the best!)