2004-01-19 : Corned Beef, Cabbage, and Casablanca
Oi. I feel hungry and weak. Larry and I are gonna try out the Atkins diet (I already did it about 2 year ago and it worked well for me, but I stopped doing it and gained all the weight back) so I walked to Fred Meyer and purchased eggs, assorted cheeses, bacon, polish sausages, chicken, cream, butter and some "allowed" vegetables and I guess tommorrow is the kick off day. It's fun to eat Kielbasa and bacon and cheese and make cream sauces and not feel bad about it. I'm gonna miss my potatoes and rice the most, but I can handle it. Anyways, after shopping I sat waiting for the bus for 20 minutes and I hadn't dressed warmly enough so I was shivering. I was spiritually warmed by re-visiting a mix tape that Buddy L. Savage (xmas-face) made for me. I really like the song "Double Coupon" by Babyland..I keep hearing it in my head..it's such a stomper. I'd never heard of Babyland. I looked them up on "allmusic.com"..didn't have alot of info on them, except for I found that "Double Coupon" is on the Doom Generation Soundtrack (I wonder if that is what Buddy recorded it from)..I remember watching "Doom Generation"...I thought it was only so-so. Pretty lame in most parts, actually. Anyways, I decided to type my name in as a song title to see if any bands have songs simply called "Stacey" and sure enough, there is a song by Ween and a song by Lyres (I LOVE Lyres!) called "Stacey" which makes me feel good!

This weekend was pretty fun but I'm too worn out to write a synapses. Highlights: drunken Monopoly, eating corned beef and cabbage while watching "Casablanca", and visiting McMennimins (sp?) "Grand Lodge" where we attended a wake (good buffet, free drinks)...It was the least somber wake I've attended, and the first one I've attended that didn't involve "the viewing" (of the body..nobody in my family gets cremated..open casket, always)...This was much more upbeat...pictures of the guy all over, his fave music (or what I assume is his fave music) playing on the stereo, etc. I didn't know anybody (not even the person who died) so it was a little strange...but Larry knew the deceased and his sons, which is why we went.

I'm gonna cut this short, I am a total space case right now.