2004-03-03 : Peter Sellers and George Harrison
We just watched that goofy movie from 1968 that Peter Sellers is in (I love him...) called "The Party" Ever see that? He plays this guy from India that's an actor and a total klutz who gets mistakenly invited to a rich Hollywood party and total hilarious chaos ensues (drunken waiters, slapstick comedy, a painted baby elephant, groovy fashion and a house full of soap suds)..if you've never seen it, you should rent it.

After the movie was over we turned to PBS and happened to catch most of the 'Concert for George' (Harrison, that is..not Curious George!) ..it was fun and somewhat moving. At points it was kinda boring (George has alot of hit and miss solo stuff I think, but alot of good stuff, esp. his Beatles' songs)

Lots of stars playing his songs...Eric Clapton, Ringo, Paul McCartney, the dude from ELO (Jeff Lynne?), Tom Petty, Ravi Shankar (I didn't know his daughter was NORAH JONES..that blows my mind!) amongst other people. It was fascinating seeing George's son (Dani?) up there..he looks like George's TWIN..amazing. At times I thought "all these old guys are trying to rock out but they can't anymore" and that was sort of sad in my mind, but then I would think it sounded really good suddenly...so, who knows..

George was always my fave Beatle and he wrote some of the best songs they ever did ("Rubber Soul" has always been my fave Beatles album and "Think For Yourself" has always been my fave song on there..plus hearing "My Sweet Lord" reminds me of being a kid and I've always loved that song as well.

It's kinda strange and sad and total synchronicity but while they were performing his song "All things must pass" we found one of our fish had died..sad, but how appropriate for that song? We've lost 3 fish in the past 2 days. (All "My" fish!! WAAAH!) I hate losing fish, though I'm not attached as much to them as I am to the cats.

Oh, I saw this thing on the news that some rebel group has pretty much taken the entire country of France "hostage" and they have threatened to bomb the railways, etc? I'm sure my brother Mike is and will be fine, but it's strange that he's in France while this is happening..wonder if he even knows about it. He's probably too busy snowboarding and drinking French wine! I don't know many of the details..how can a group of people try to take an entire country "hostage"?

Anyways, goodnight, sleep tight and don't let the bed bugs bite!