2004-03-10 : Miss America 1996 which leads me back to Green and Kohler 1991
Today I went to "orientation" at Express Personnel. I have never been to an "orientation" at a temp agency and I thought it was sort of funny. It was me, a middle-aged lady named Mary and a polite and slightly effeminate man named Jose. Our "orientator" was named Kristy and she had on a red blazer (blazers remind me of my mom..I don't believe I've ever worn a blaser, not to be all fashionista, but still)..Anyways, Kristy is actually really nice (and probably younger than me so I shouldn't make fun of her). As part of our orientation we were shown two videos. The first video was "Welcome to Express Personnel" which featured a very perky blonde lady telling us about what we can expect from Express Personnel and what they expect from US. Dry stuff...we were all sort of laughing at the fact that we had to watch these stupid fucking videos. The second video was even more hilarious because it featured former 1996 Miss America as our guide to Express Personnel benefits that we may become eligible for (such as life insurance, 401k, vacation pay, etc.) after 60 years of service (ok, that was a joke..more like 3 or 4 months of working for them). I didn't mind sitting through the videos or the orientation though I admit to feeling a sense of "smugness" within myself. I've had several jobs and worked for temp agencies before so though I smiled alot I sort of thought "God, I'm not a fucking MORON! I know all "the rules" about conduct, arriving on time, appropriate dress, etc. *sigh*

You know what's funny? Those fucking Bush campaign ads where Bush comes on the screen right before hand and says "Hi. I'm George W. Bush (*oh really? I didn't recognize your stupid monkey-face!*) and I approve of this ad" (I can't remember the exact wording)....It just makes me laugh..stupid dickhead.

I can't stop singing Urge Overkill songs. I was listening to the big "HIT" CD in the car this weekend and I can't get "Sister Havana" outta my head (which is sort of good and sort of bad)..Urge Overkill reminds me of living with Simone/Tracy/Ursula on Green and Kohler in Champaign, IL...1991...year of also listening to The Breeder's "Pod", Hole's "Pretty on the Inside", Nirvana's "Nevermind", Mudhoney's self-titled (I think that was '91), The Pixies "Tromp Le Monde", and The Charlatans UK. That was also the year I got my very own car...a dark red Hyundai (which turned out to be SUCH A LEMON)...I haven't owned a car since that one (which I sold in 1994 to move to Seattle) and I haven't even driven (except for once) since then. Memories!!