2004-04-29 : THE PIXIES WERE AMAZING!!!
So, I got this email yesterday stating that a South African software company held some international lottery and they chose my random email as the winning ticket (Supposedly I just won over a million dollars)...This has GOT to be a scam, right?? I sent an email back to the "contact email" person and they replied and attached a document (which asks for my bank account, address, etc.) so they could "deposit" the money in my account. There is even some phone# listed. Has anybody else received this sort of email? Obviously I'm not about to just give up my personal info, but what if I really DID win this bizarre lottery I want to claim the $$. I'm not sure how to go about researching whether this thing is legit or not. Any advice? I have the emails saved and I can send them to whomever (I know you all think I'm probably being naive..but what if I WON!?)

Anyways, The Pixies blew the fucking ROOF off!! It was amazing. We sat up in the balcony cuz I get claustrophic standing on the main floor next to a bunch of people. The only thing about the balcony is that most people sit and I really wanted to get up and dance most of the time but I didn't wanna block anybody's view. They sounded great, great, great. They played a wide variety of stuff of all of their albums, but it seems to me they focused more on the earlier albums (which I prefer) than the last 2 or 3. The lightshow was pretty fucking cool, though I thought I was gonna come away blind..it was rather shocking and bright at points..right in your eyes and strange pulsations so that you almost feel like you might have a seizure (but you know you won't)...it was really loud and so I've been deaf all day. They got a standing ovation and came back and played about a 3 song encore. They played "Gigantic" as part of the encore which was the one song I waited the entire night to hear. The opening band, Helio Sequence (or is it Helios Sequence?) was pretty good, too. Modest Mouse side project (but not Ugly Cassanova like Larry told me)

I'll just say that I felt such a surge of happiness while watching the Pixies and the crowd was so completely into them and singing along really loud. It was fucking great. Ok..I'll stop blabbing about it now. '

Know what else rocks my world? "Cowgirl in the Sand" by Neil Young. I was listening to it on the way home from work while riding the bus and I love how long tangent-inspired the song it. I actually had to play it twice in a row cuz I was just so lost in it..it was great. I hate "jam bands" but I love bands that have long tangents in the middle..like Sonic Youth, etc. *sigh*...Music makes me feel so good (that's a stupid statement) but I think anybody really into music knows what I mean. It's all consuming and it takes me through so many different moods and when I can get lost in a song the way I can a book, you know it's gotta be genius!