2004-06-25 : The Chemical Plant a Block Away
Before I get to the "exciting and weird" news I'll try to remember my dream of this morning. I was going to fly to Tokyo (? God knows why!) and I was hanging out with Tracy in this bar (I didn't know if I was in Seattle, Eugene or someplace in Illinois) and I realized that I hadn't brought my suitcase with me (I thought I had to go to the airport in a couple of hours, but then it turned out my flight didn't leave until the next day) but when we thought I wouldn't have any clothes to wear in Tokyo Tracy started telling me about how you can "rent" whole wardrobes in certain Japanese stores and it wasn't that expensive and I thought that was a pretty cool idea, but then I realized I had time to go home and get my suitcase. Then I was wondering aloud to Tracy whether my visit to Tokyo would be "Lost in Translation"-ish...and we started talking about how much we liked the movie, and then I woke up.

************That concludes the dream broadcast******

This morning when I went outside to walk to the busstop, I noticed a manila envelope in my front yard that said "Important info, please read" and so I stuck it in my purse (very curious, of course) and as I walked to the busstop I noticed the same envelopes where in every single neighborhood yard for at least a two block radius. When I got to the busstop and started reading the "important info" I was shocked (but not surprised)...It was an anonymous letter from an employee of Borden Chemicals. Borden Chemicals is a factory that I live 1 block away from (Yuck, huh?) In this letter the employee wanted to let us nearby neighbors in on how many dangerous chemicals Borden is just letting spread throughout the air/atmosphere and the health risks/symptoms associated with these chemicals. He also mentioned that several employees have been fired for calling OSHA and other environmental agencies about Borden's lack of concern for the environment, Borden's "broken scrubbers" (I guess scrubbers help the chemicals not get into the atmosphere so much), and a bunch of other creepy, creepy shit. So, anyways, maybe I'm paranoid, but he said common symptoms include shortness of breath (Hello! This is always happening to me, and I wake up short of breath sometimes) and unexplained rashes (I STILL have this rash that comes and goes on my face and neck)...Anyways, I'm faxing copies of this "insider" letter to all the newspapers in town and eventually I'll contact the TV stations, etc. I'm also going to contact Borden and complain (not that they'll probably do anything) but it's just so creepy. If anybody wants to know the exact contents of what this letter said, I can post it here or email you, let me know..it's pretty interesting. I really don't want Larry to buy our house now..I want to move, seriously..maybe I'm over-reacting but I'm really concerned now about living a block away from a chemical nightmare!!

Anyways, Happy Friday!