2004-07-06 : Survey about Me
I stole this survey from atomicbuddha (READ HER..she's on my buddy list for easy access) who took it from Elvis, Jim Morrison, Moses, Jesus and everybody else on Diaryland (ha ha!) I LOVE survey's!!

**********************************

1. What is the geekiest part of your music collection? Um, Jason bought me FIVE (count'em FIVE) Bay City Rollers albums once...Also, I think Christian Death's first album "Only Theater of Pain" is SO Goth and out-dated and over-dramatic that it's completely embarrassing, but I still gotta have it around for nostalgia sake!!

2. what do you eat when you raid the fridge late at night? I don't really raid the fridge at night. The last thing in the day I usually want to eat is ice cream.

3. what is your secret guaranteed weeping movie? It's no secret..it's "Harold and Maude" (it's so....BEAUTIFUL!) I also completely lose it during the final scene of "To Sir with Love" when Lulu is singing the song to "Sir"...That whole movie makes me cry, actually!!

4. if you could have plastic surgery, what would you have done? I'm not the type to have plastic surgery, but I've thought that if I were going to do it, I would have a more defined jaw line made for myself and I'd have lipo on my stomach.

5. do you have a completely irrational fear? I'm terrified of driving. I don't drive anymore actually, because I have a phobia. I also have a general gynecological phobia...I Do get pelvic exams/paps (though I'm due for one, but waiting until I have insurance..it's been about 2 years since my last one) I break out in cold sweats and at times I have vomited before having those things done. I also have a terrible fear of people putting pillows over my face (just as a joke)...I instantly feel like I'm suffocating to death.

6. what is the little physical habit that gives away your insecure moment? deep breathing, crying, and picking at my scalp.

7. are you a pyromaniac? Nope.

8. do you have too many love interests? No, it's all about Larry.

9. do you know anyone famous? Yea, I know Alison Krauss. I went to high school with her. She was very cool and funny (she probably still is)....I've met some famous "Seattle grunge" musicians, but that was just briefly cuz Jason knew them from high school (and also The Murder City Devils guitar player..I know him vaguely from Jason)

10. describe your bed: It hurts my back! It just your average queen sized bed (box spring and mattress)...it has very mismatched bedding on it at the moment, but I ordered a cool duvet cover and shams to match our room (that was before I got fired..wish I had that money NOW..oh well)

11. spontaneous or plan? a little bit of both...I do like to plan in advance though (even if it's to have dinner with a friend)..I'm a virgo, so it makes sense!

12. who should play you in a movie about your life? I can't think of anybody famous that I have been told I resemble. This is a hard question! Probably my mother (ha ha) if they could make her look alot younger, give her colored red hair and blue/grey contacts..I resemble my mom quite a bit!! I don't know if she could accurately portray my personality, though.

13. do you know how to play poker? Nope..I know how to play Candyland, though!

14. what do you carry with you at all times? Keys, sedatives (klonopin), State Id, bus pass, debit card, ibuprofen. I should probably carry the god damn inhaler with me, but I really pretty much refuse to use it!

15. what do you miss most about being little? Being with mom all the time...playing with barbie's....drawing pictures of "pretty models"....discovering lots of "cool" things to be into...and a general absense of boredom/anxiety/depression and apathy that set in once I became a teenager (and has gotten worse the older I've gotten...)

16. are you happy with your given name? Yea, I kinda like it. I had a kick-ass poetry teacher in college say "Stacey Fay..don't EVER change your name..it's the perfect poet's name!" I liked that!

17. how much money would it take to get you to give up the Internet for one year? Pay off all my debts for me and I'd do it (I'll say $10,000)

18. what color is your bedroom? Some walls are primary red (but a shade darker), some walls are a greyish/light blue and some walls are white. It's VERY cool looking! It looks like all the colors of suits that Duran Duran used to wear..ha ha!

19. what was the last song you were listening to? PJ Harvey's "It's You" (from her latest, Uh-Huh) is currently playing. The last song was the song before that!

20. have you ever been in a play? Yea, in high school, "I remember Mama" and a couple of other plays the drama teacher "wrote himself" (he was a talentless hack and kind of nasty) I seem to recall playing a psychiatrist and a dancer in various plays....

21. have you ever been in love? Yes, many times..and many times that love has faded away, away, away..but currently I am still in love and hope it lasts a LONG time (I don't believe in forever..I WISH I did, though!)

22. do you talk a lot? The only time I really talk alot is if I'm really drunk. Other than that..it depends on the person. I'm sort of quiet in general. If you get me on a subject I love like music or movies, I can talk and talk and talk, though!!

23. do you like yourself and believe in yourself? I like myself 50% of the time and sort of hate myself 40% of the time and the other 10% of the time I really don't know what I think about myself. Do I believe in myself? Yea, I think so.

24. do transient/homeless people annoy you sometimes? Yea, I have been irritated before. But it isn't really their fault. It's mostly when I lived in Seattle and would get asked for change on every half block or less...but mostly I feel bad for them and I'll help if I can. If they are rude, I get pissed, though, and I admit that I have a hard time sitting on a bus next to or close to somebody that smells REALLY BAD!

25. do you consider yourself to be a nice person? For the most part, yea.

26. do you spend more time with your Husband or your friends? I don't have many friends down here, so I spend all my time primarily with either Larry (my boyfriend) or by myself.

27. what is your ideal marriage location? I'm done and burnt out with marriage forever, but I agree that Ireland would be beautiful to be married in.

28. which musical instrument do you wish you could play? electric bass and sometimes I wish I was a drummer in a kick-ass band!

29. favorite fabric? I like silk but it's expensive. Cotton is nice but it wrinkles too much. I really do like rayon and polyester cuz they are so easy to care for, but they don't breath..so...I like styles/pattern/color more than fabric!

30. something you love and hate? I get really irritated (ok, it verges on hate) with people that talk CONSTANTLY and don't know when to shut up. There are many things I love..my cats, Larry, my family (esp. my mom), homemade pie, all sorts of food...lots of music and movies and books (listed on my profile)..I also love sleeping!! I hate having to work (though I'm jobless now and that sucks as well!)

31. what kind of bedding do you use? crappy sheets (we need better sheets) and a nice down comforter inside a nice but ugly duvet cover. I guess most of it's cotton, but not very high quality!

32. do you tell your friends about your sex life? Yea, sometimes!!

33. what's the one language you want to learn? I want to learn more Dutch so I can talk to Hans in it and use it when I visit Holland (though Hans speaks very good English)..I'd also like to be fluent in Czech since I still want to visit Prague sometime!

34. how do you eat an apple? I just bite into it and chew it up and swallow and do that over and over again until it's about half way eaten (I never finish apples, don't know why..)

35. what do you order at a bar? beer: I prefer microbrews but I'll drink PBR if we have no $$..I like red wine (not white..preferably some good Merlot), for mixed drinks I like white russians, pina coladas, buttery nipples. I almost always drink beer above anything else, though.

36. have you ever pierced your body parts? two holes in my left ear, one hole in my right ear.

37. do you have tattoos? Yes, a fairly large on on my upper right bicep...green and black winking cartoon cat with pearl necklace (you might have seen the sticker it's based up on...)

38. would you ever admit to having done plastic surgery of any kind if confronted? Yea, I would be open about it if asked.

39. what's one of the "funniest" things you've ever done? My entire family (mostly my mother) laugh at things I write to them or say cuz I guess I have a witty sense of humor. As far as things I've actually done..well, there is this stupid incident involving me stealing a stay puff marshmallow man doll from a party in college and then returning it to the house at another party and we organized a public "stoning" (marshmallows in place of rocks) and I was tied to a chair in the front yard and people had their fun pelting me with marshmallows. Maybe that isn't funny, but it's certainly creative!!

40. do you drive stick? Mom tryed to teach me few times...I still don't how to drive stick!

41. what's one trait you hate in a person? Talking, talking, talking though nobody is listening....Intolerance would be 2nd, and no sense of humor would be 3rd.

42. what kind of watch(es) do you wear? I only have one..it's from K-mart and cost $10.00 but everybody thinks it's an antique (COOL!) It's silver and dainty and well, it looks sort of Victorian or something...

43. most frivolous purchase? A couple of years ago I went into an antique store and saw a beautiful (and in excellent) condition white Victorian petticoat (lovely eyelet all over the bottom)) that actually fit me and I paid $60.00 for it, just to have it. I never wear it. I love Victorian things in general, but esp. under garments....

44. do you consider yourself materialistic? I like buying stuff (mostly clothes, little antique things, books and music) but I buy most clothes at Ross or at thrift stores...I'm not into expensive things like cars and electronics, etc.

I'm somewhat materialstic but it isn't overboard.

45. what do you cook the best? this pork chop recipe involving alot of garlic, lime juice and white wine. I make a decent stir-fry, banana bread, coffee cakes, spaghetti, etc.

46. favorite writing instrument? I don't have a favorite...just a black ink pen that works well!

47. do you prefer to stand out or blend in? Sometimes I like to be "invisible" and other times (when I think I look "good") I want to be noticed when I walk into a room.

48. would you ever go out dressed like the opposite sex? Yea. it'd be fun to wear a suit and slick back my hair.

49. what's one car you will never buy? an SUV or mini-van type of thing. I'll probably never buy ANY car since I don't like driving. I'd like to have an old Dodge dart or something, though. My dream car would be some restored old Rolls Royce or any other car from late 30's early 40's.

50. what kind of books do you like to read? Mostly fiction...though today I was looking at my "alternative medicine/herbal remedies" books....I like Chuck Palahniuk (I just finished "survivor") I love Isabel Allende, Amy Tan, Hermann Hesse, Gabriel Garcia Marquez, Margaret Atwood..I read most of what they have written (and will continue to write...)

51. if you won the lottery, what would you do? Give some to animal welfare charities, give some to family and a few friends, Buy a house in a nice section of Seattle, a little house somewhere along the Oregon Coastline, and maybe a house in some European country I decided I like the most (I'd have to go visit Europe first)...I wouldn't work much...I'd try to save some...I'd publish my own poetry, etc.

52. burial or cremation? Burial...in the Lake Forke cemetery close to Atwood, IL (which is close to Arthur..which is a cool Amish town) where all my relatives are already buried. I love graveyards and I want to be with all my family. I guess I'm extremely traditional in that sense!

53. how many online journals do you read regularly? 10, probably.

54. what's one thing you're a sore loser at? Nothing really...I'm not a competitive person.

55. if you don't like a person, how do you show it? I basically ignore them..I won't really talk to them. I'll get up and physically leave wherever they happen to be.

56. do you cry in front of friends? On rare occassions..though I do cry alot in front of Larry. I don't like to cry in front of others, it feels embarrassing, but it happens anyway because I"m pretty emotional and moody.

57. what kind of first impression do you think you give to people? Quiet at first and then when people get to know me, they usually think I'm a little strange I think, but mostly sort of funny, and sort of moody.

58. what's one thing you like to do alone? Read, go to movies, meditate, exercise.

59. are you a giver or a taker? I used to be completely a giver, but it's more balanced now.

60. when's the last time you cried? Did I cry yesterday? No, but I think I felt like it..it was the day before. There is a This Mortal Coil Song "I Want to Live" that Larry played that reminds me of a once suicidal friend (she played it over and over again in her room when she was on the EDGE of sanity) and it brought back sad memories.

61. favorite communication method? I like email alot, writiing letters, talking face to face somewhat..my least fave method of communicating is on the phone (Unless it is to my mom)

62. how many drinks before you're tipsy? Wine: 1-2 glasses. Beer (depends on strength of beer): 2-3 pint glasses (sometimes it only takes one strong pint of a dark beer, though), hard drinks: 3, I think.

63. do you think you're cute? Yea, I guess I'm cute, though some people say I'm more pretty than cute.

64. do you have problems changing clothes in front of friends? Yes. I'm really modest in general.

65. what's the most painful experience you've ever had? 2 divorces, multiple problems with depression and anxiety. It's hard to say physically. The tattoo didn't hurt all that much.

************************

Well, that's it for me. I'm off to take a shower, catch a bus, go get my Greyhound ticket from the station...go to the library to return books and pick up 2 more for my trip and maybe eat something inexpensive somewhere.