2004-07-21 : Holland vs. The US
We went to Flix and Pix (or maybe it's Flics and Pics OR Flicks and Picks) last night and it was my first time being there. It is the best video/dvd rental store in Eugene/Springfield (I can't believe Larry waited almost a year to take me to it!) and it reminds me of a smaller version of Seattle's Scarecrow Video, which is possibly one of the BEST video stores in the US, (but I haven't lived in that that many cities, so I can't really say that now can I?)

Anyways, Flix n Pix has alot of cool stuff on their shelves (a Cult section featuring most of the Russ Meyers movies, which is always a good sign to me) plus they have thousands of videos in back that aren't advertised on shelves so you can just ask if they have something in particular. They didn't have "Over the Edge" which I've been in the mood to see, but they did have "Psych Out" which I haven't seen for a couple of years, so we got that (mostly so I could have Larry see what a wonderfully bad movie it is..one of my faves!) and he wanted to see "I Shot Andy Warhol" which we also rented. I always forget that Stephen Dorff plays Candy Darling in that....he is great in that role. Remember that total piece of shit movie, SFW, that he was in? I don't think I even bothered to finish that one. I liked him in 'BackBeat' though as Stu Sutcliff.

I thought talky-talk-won't-shut-the-fuck-up roomie, C, was leaving for Seattle this morning, not to return until tommorrow (he helps repo cars and they are chasing one up to Seattle) but he's still here..I hope the trip wasn't cancelled cuz I relish the idea of being able to hang out downstairs without having to get stuck in ridiculous conversations with him...I like having the WHOLE house to myself (not just my bedroom upstairs)...Oh well, maybe they are leaving in a few hours or something..who knows!

I'm gonna go in an hour or two to Campus and apply at places like the University Bookstore and...well, I don't know where else..I should also walk around campus because I never actually have and I've lived here almost a year now. I wonder if the University of Oregon's campus is as pretty as Southern Illinois University's (where I went to school) or the University of Washington campus (which is VERY pretty)...I guess I'll find out.

Talked to Tracita and Hans today. That was nice. They probably arent' coming back to the States until October (when Hans has his first vacation from his new job which he starts on Aug. 16) and plus the airfare is too expensive for them to fly back right now. I know they wanted to come back sooner but at least he has a job. They just need to find a house to live in, which isn't real easy in Holland according to Tracy, unless you actually BUY a house. FOr anybody that wants to rent either a house or an apartment they have to be on a waiting list and I guess most people are on this list for a year before they get a place..isn't that crazy? Here in the US, if you have ok credit history, rental history and you have all the $$ for the deposits, etc, you pretty much can move in if someplace has a vacancy. Not the case there. So hopefully they'll find a house to BUY instead of spending another 5 months on the waiting list (they are living in a tent currently, so they are getting a little sick of tent life...which I can totally understand!)

Well, I'm gonna go read or something. Auf Wiedersehen!