2004-07-27 : Ghosts of Gettysburg
You know who rock? ruthiebat and livesand (Dr. Bruce) that's who! Larry got the mail yesterday and he handed me a package and said "Who the hell do you know in Alabama?" A confused look came over my face and then I looked at the address label and then I knew..it was my cd's from this lovely couple!! I'm listening to the new Mission of Burma they burnt me. Man, it's just so fucking good. As good as anything they put out when they first started (and I guess some of the songs are actually old songs they used to play back then)...so melodic at times and so dissonant at times. Perfect. I can't wait to listen to what else they recorded for me: "Welcome to Alligator Records (pt's 1 and 2)" which is blues stuff, Wabi Down Home Blues Project ("The Best Things in Life are Still Made By Hand"), A Boston comp "Mass. Ave--The Boston Scene (1975-83)" (which has a picture of a surprised looking younger Bruce in all his leather-jacketed glory), and a Pebbles comp (Vol. 1: Various Misfits)...Thanks GUYS!! Speaking of "Made by Hand", Ruthie had written me a letter on "I like Vegetable" stationary which was quirky and cute and she'd wrapped the cd's in this kick-ass vegetable/garden themed wrapping paper (even the ribbon she used had two little plastic string beans on it)...It was so cool to get a wrapped present. Like Early Birthday or Late xmas. It made my entire day/week/month. Oh man, now "Dirt" is playing..One of my all-time fave Mission O' Burma songs...that is cool they included a version of it on here. If I ever get fed up with life here, I swear I'm gonna show up on Ruthie and Bruce's doorstep...suitcase in hand..I'll be their maid and general jack of all trades! Can I? Can I? Hee Hee. Anyways, I need to buy some blank Cd's and get to work on recording them some of my fave music and then I need to find even BETTER wrapping paper to impress Ruthie with (ha ha..just kidding!)

*************************************

I had a driving nightmare last night. I didn't lose control or crash a car, though. My driving nightmares are always linked to how I'm driving down a residential st. or country road and all is going well until I suddenly have ended up on the freeway and I'm panicking and trying to get off the freeway.

**************************************

The night before I had dreamed that I was showing my passport to purchase something or to show as ID to get into a something (very vague) and there was all this confusion with my passport..like, my picture was in there, but the other half of the passport belonged to some sort of possible Saudi Terrorist who had tryed to steal my passport/identity, so they were gonna have to question me, but they took so long in actually "detaining" me that I Just walked out into the night air (I had to catch a plane or train or something somewhere) and I was just walking down this dark highway with some fast food joints on it. It was really weird.

***************************************

I've been listening to "Coast to Coast" lately on the radio from about 10:15 to midnight. They talk too much about UFO's, which I only have a vague interest in, but last night's show was really interesting, and I started to get scared so I turned it off. It was on "The Ghosts of Gettysburg" (go to "ghostsofgettysburg.com" for more info. The author of several books on the subject was the guest and he told this one incident involving a couple driving on a certain road out of town at night and how the woman felt like something was staring at the back of her neck and she turned around and there was a confederate soldier (She was a re-enactor she could recognize his uniform) ghost in their backseat, just staring soulessly at them. She didn't say anything to her husband, but right away he said "Ok. We are turning back and going into town again" and when she asked him why he said "Because I just looked in the rearview mirror and there is someone in our backseat" and she said "Oh My God, I saw him too"..I guess the ghost got out of the car when they turned around towards town. That story just FREAKED me out. I was afraid I'd have nightmares about ghosts, but I didn't, just driving nightmares!