2004-07-31 : A Day in the Country
I feel worn out and sort of dried out...like a dried apricot!! Felt like I've been in the hot sun all day (but you always feel like that when you ride around in a convertible..even while wearing a hat (which I do to try to keep some of the sun off my face)...I just took a late afternoon shower and I feel cleaner and I smell nice and lemony (used lemon shower wash). Nothing smells cleaner to me than lemons. Well, actually, freshly cut cucumbers smell very fresh and clean, too. Yum. I'd like to eat some cucumbers in a vinegary sauce right now (and no, I don't mean pickles, though those are good, too) but it'd only give me heart burn.

We ate breakfast today as Rose's diner and then we drove 40 miles north to Brownsville to look in their antique shops. I saw some cool things (like some old beaded purses and a cool vintage slip) that I wanted but I didn't make any purchases since I'm almost broke and jobless. Then we looked around Brownsville's "Pioneer Photo Gallery" which has kazillions of photos of the town from it's founding days up through the 90's and 2000's. I've never seen such a well-documented little town with so many cool photos. I guess in 1919, a spark from a creamery set a roof on fire and the spreading fire destroyed most of the major businesses and 28 homes as well. It't too bad that happened...now all we have to look at are photos of what the original town/buildings looked like.

While driving back from Brownsville we passed an oldish (if you consider 1851 old) cemetery out on the country road we were taking back and so we stopped and I looked around for a bit. I love looking around cemeteries. Alot of the headstones had damage so they were almost unreadable, but it was interesting anyway. As we were leaving the cemetery we saw big clouds of white-yellow smoke coming off of a field in the near distance and so we decided to see where that was coming from. We located a field that was on fire (it's very hot and dry so I'm sure the field just went up like straw) and then we saw a burnt-out tractor, so it's possible the tractor overheated and caught on fire or something and set the field a blaze. Or perhaps not. Anyways, there were fire crews putting the fire out. I'm sure it's completely contained by now. Still, that was an interesting scene as well.

Saw "The Village" yesterday morning (caught the very first opening day matinee at 10:35)....I liked things about it and I really hated certain things about it. That is about all I'll say...I don't want to give away anything for those of you planning on seeing it cuz as usual, it's got some twists.