2004-08-11 : Some Velvet Morning when I'm Bored
Yikes. I'm usually extremely patient with movies...I'll sit there and watch and watch, waiting to find some redeeming quality in a movie. I"ll even watch to the end even if I've already concluded in my mind that I'm bored to death or can't stand the movie for some other reason, but I just simply couldn't finish watching "Morvern Callar" which is something I rented yesterday. I like Samantha Morton as an actress, but this movie just bored me to TEARS. I kept waiting, and trying to like it but I just didn't and I don't even CARE how it ends. She's so much better in "In America"..well, that movie was great anyway. The only thing I liked about "Morvern Callar" was some of the soundtrack, esp. hearing Lee Hazelwood/Nancy Sinatra's "Some Velvet Morning" while Morvern is almost "sleepwalking" through the grocery store she works in.

Last night we watched "Suicide Club"...I'm still not sure what to make of it. I sort of liked it (esp. the whole Glam-Rock Leader, Geneis, bit) but I found myself wondering "what the fuck?" throughout the last half of the movie, but it has kept me trying to figure out what REALLY happened, so I guess it did have an impact on me in a way. The Japanese sure are masters of Gore in Horror, that is for sure!

Not much else going on..I've just been watching alot of movies. The only I've watched in the past week that I REALLY liked was "My Life Without Me"....Beautiful and sad.

Went to Planned Parenthood yesterday and that was a great success! Because I have no kids/health ins/job I can get free birth control and yearly exams/paps for FREE, so I walked out of there with 3 months worth of birth control pills which absolutely makes my fucking month!!

I keep listening to "Coast to Coast" at night. I love the show even if the topic isn't one I'm particularily interested in. It's strange to feel yourself falling asleep while listening to a radio show...the voices kind of come in and out as you go in and out. I've never listened to radio at night so this is my first experience of the eerie feeling of being half awake and half asleep and realizing you aren't REALLY listening to what the speaker is saying anymore but you are just absorbing random words.