2004-09-13 : Broken Back/Broken Car
Wow. It's so cool connecting with people from my past, whether I knew them (Michelle) or not (Chuck)...Just talking about certain places and people and having them know EXACTLY what I am talking about...it's a good thing! I'm surprised I didn't DREAM about Carbondale last night with how much I've been talking and thinking about it!

**************************************

Poor Larry. He woke up today and realized that he'd thrown out his back (by picking up Tracy and Hans' TV and bringing it up here..he didn't lift from the knees...tisk, tisk..) and then when he went downstairs to try to start his car, it wouldn't..so his back and car are temporarily broken. He's been taking ibuprofen (he needs some muscle relaxers but we don't have any..oh well) and applying ice packs. I'll heat him a hot water bottle when he needs it! Hot water bottles are so old-fashioned. Maybe this winter we could use hot water bottles (or hot coals in a pan under the bed..ha ha!) and not even turn on the heat. Maybe if I contacted Mose on "Amish In The City", he would have some tips for me!!

***************************************

What else? I'm reading "Life of Pi" by Yann Martel. It's an incredible story and I highly recommend it. If I were to ever get stuck on a lifeboat by myself after escaping a sinking ship, I JUST might know how to survive after reading this book!! The odds of sharing the lifeboat with a dead zebra, crazy hyena and a 450 pound tiger would rather slim, though!

***************************************

I'm still on an old movie kick. I still have "Libeled Lady" (I'm beginning to like Jean Harlow..I didn't use to much at all) to watch and also "My Man Godfrey" (I've never watched anything with Carole Lombard in it before.

***************************************

Things with my sister and her abusive ex-boyfriend (I hope he stays an EX!) seem to have de-escalated. She's not with him now and seems to be wising up, but this could all change. She needs counseling regardless of anything so she can learn why she picks out men that aren't good for her and how she can learn how to stop that pattern.

***************************************

Things also have de-escalated with my friends Norman and Sam. They aren't together..and he is being good about staying away from her and I really think it's over between them for good now..I hope and pray, anyway. If they get back together I really won't understand it.

***************************************

Talked to Tracy (and heard Hans in the background) and that is always nice. Tracy is one of those friends that I can just say the most stupid shit to and she responds perfectly. They are pretty sure they are coming back here for a visit (and to get their cats and the rest of their belongings) on October 16. They'll be here about a week and then back to Holland they go. Maybe I can go with them..*sigh*..just kidding. I'd miss Larry too much!